Oireachtas (Allowances To Members) and Ministerial, Parliamentary, Judicial and Court Offices (Amendment) Act, 1998

Allowances to chairpersons, etc., of Oireachtas Committees.

4.—(1) The Government may, by order—

(a) provide for the payment, to the extent specified in the order, to a member of the Oireachtas who holds the position of—

(i) chairperson of an Oireachtas Committee or sub-committee, or

(ii) vice-chairperson of or whip to an Oireachtas Committee,

of an annual allowance in respect of the member's duties as holder of that position, and

(b) determine from time to time—

(i) the Oireachtas Committees, sub-committees and positions in respect of which the allowance is to be paid,

(ii) the rate of the allowance, and

(iii) the date from which the allowance is payable.

(2) An order under this section may provide for—

(a) different rates for different Oireachtas Committees and subcommittees and for different positions with different Committees and sub-committees, and

(b) different dates from which the allowance is payable for different Oireachtas Committees and sub-committees.

(3) In this section and in section 5 of this Act—

“Oireachtas Committee” means—

(a) a committee appointed by order of either or both Houses of the Oireachtas,

(b) the British-Irish Inter-Parliamentary Body,

(c) the All Party Committee on Strategic Management Initiative, and

(d) such other committee as may be specified by order of the Government and that consists of members of the Oireachtas appointed to the committee in a manner similar to the manner in which members are appointed to the committee referred to in paragraph (c);

“sub-committee” means a sub-committee of an Oireachtas Committee.