Courts (Establishment and Constitution) Act, 1961

Establishment and constitution of the Supreme Court.

1.—(1) On the commencement of this Act, the Court of Final Appeal, which in pursuance of Article 34 of the Constitution is to be called An Chúirt Uachtarach (The Supreme Court), shall stand established.

(2) The Supreme Court shall be constituted of the following judges—

(a) the president thereof, namely, An Príomh-Bhreitheamh (The Chief Justice), and

(b) such number (not being less than four) of ordinary judges (each of whom shall be styled “Breitheamh den Chúirt Uachtarach” (“Judge of the Supreme Court”)) as may from time to time be fixed by Act of the Oireachtas.

(3) The President of the High Court shall be ex officio an additional judge of the Supreme Court.

(4) Where, owing to the illness of a judge of the Supreme Court or for any other reason, a sufficient number of judges of the Supreme Court is not available for the transaction of the business of that Court, the Chief Justice may request any ordinary judge or judges of the High Court to sit on the hearing of any appeal to or other matter cognisable by the Supreme Court, and any judge so requested shall sit on the hearing of such appeal or other matter and be an additional judge of the Supreme Court for such appeal or other matter.