Weights and Measures Act, 1928

Local authorities in County Dublin.

22.—(1) Notwithstanding anything in the Principal Act, the councils of the urban districts specified in the Schedule to this Act shall in their respective districts be the respective local authorities for the purposes of the Weights and Measures Acts, 1878 to 1904, as amended by this Act.

(2) The Principal Act shall be construed and have effect as if the Fourth Schedule thereto were amended as follows, that is to say:—

(a) by the deletion of the following words now contained in the said Schedule, that is to say, the words “such portion of the police district of Dublin metropolis as is without the municipal boundary of the borough of Dublin,” the words “The Commissioners of the Dublin metropolitan police” and the words “The funds applicable to defray the expenses of the Dublin metropolitan police,” and

(b) by the deletion in the part of the said Schedule headed “Notes” of the words “police district of Dublin Metropolis” and the insertion in lieu of the said words so deleted of the words “following urban districts, that is to say, Blackrock, Dalkey, Dun Laoghaire, Pembroke and Rathmines and Rathgar.”

(3) Any sub-standards, scales and stamps procured under sub-section (5) of section 78 of the Principal Act and now in the custody of the Commissioner shall be delivered over to the county council of the county of Dublin.

(4) Section 81 of the Principal Act is hereby amended by the deletion of the fourth paragraph thereof (being the paragraph which commences with the words “In the district” and ends with the words “within the said district.”).