S.I. No. 230/1996 - Quality of Bathing Waters (Amendment) Regulations, 1996

S.I. No. 230 of 1996.


The Minister for the Environment in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 30 of the Local Government (Water Pollution) Act, 1977 (No. 1 of 1977) and by section 26 of that Act as amended by the Local Government (Water Pollution) (Amendment) Act, 1990 (No. 21 of 1990), hereby makes the following Regulations:—

1. These Regulations may be cited as the Quality of Bathing Waters (Amendment) Regulations, 1996.

2. The Quality of Bathing Waters Regulations, 1992 ( S.I. No. 155 of 1992 ) are hereby amended —

(a) by the substitution for sub-article (9) of article 4 of the following sub-article:

"(9) Results of sampling carried out each year under this article and reports on compliance with the standards specified in the Second Schedule shall be supplied by the local authority to the Environmental Protection Agency not later than the 31st day of October in the year to which they relate in such manner as the Agency shall direct.", and

(b) by the deletion of the First Schedule thereof (as substituted by the Quality of Bathing Waters (Amendment) Regulations, 1994 ( S.I. No. 145 of 1994 ) ) and the substitution therefor of the following Schedule:







The bathing place at Ballyallia Lake, Ennis

Clare County Council

The bathing place at Ballycuggeran, Killaloe

The beach at Bishopsquarter

Cappagh Pier and beach at Kilrush

The beach at Fanore

The beach at Kilkee

The beach at Lahinch

The bathing place at Mountshannon, Lough Derg

The beach at Spanish Point

White Strand, Doonbeg

White Strand, Miltown Malbay

The beach at Barley Cove

Cork County Council

The beach at Claycastle, Youghal

The beach at Coolmaine

The beach at Fountainstown

The beach at Garretstown

White Strand at Garrylucas

The beach at Garryvoe

The beach at Inchydoney

The beach at Owenahincha

The beach at Redbarn

The beach at Tragumna

The beach at The Warren

The main beach at Youghal

The beach at Ballyhernan, Fanad

Donegal County Council

The beach at Bundoran

The beach at Culdaff

The beach at Downings

The beach at Drumnatinny

The beach at Fintra

The beach at Ladys Bay, Buncrana

The beach at Lisfannon

The beach at Marble Hill

The beach at Murvagh

The beach at Port Arthur Strand, Derrybeg

The beach at Portnablagh

The beach at Portnoo/Naran

The beach at Portsalon

The beach at Rathmullan

The beach at Rossnowlagh

The beach at KillineyThe beach at Seapoint

Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council

The beach at Balbriggan

Fingal County Council

The beach at Donabate

The beach at Loughshinny

The beach at Malahide

The beach at Portmarnock

The beach at Portrane

The South beach at Rush

The beach at Skerries

Burrow Beach at Sutton

Trá an Dóilin, An Cheathrú Rúa

Galway County Council

The beach at Clifden

The beach at Gurteen, Roundstone

The beach at Na Forbacha

The beach at Cill Mhuirbhigh, Inishmore

The bathing place at Loughrea Lake

The bathing place at Portumna

An Trá Mór, Caol Rua formerly known as An Cnoc

Trá na mBan, An Spidéal

Pier Beach, An Spidéal

Trá Chaladh bhFuinnse

The beach at Traught, Kinvara

The beach at Ballinskelligs

Kerry County Council

White Strand at Ballybunion

The beach at Ballyheigue

Banna Strand

The beach at Castlegregory

The beach at Derrynane

The beach at Fenit

The beach at Inch

The beach at Kells Bay

The beach at Maharabeg, Castlegregory

White Strand at Rossbeigh

White Strand at Caherciveen

The beach at Ventry

The bathing place at Keeldra Lake, Cloone

Leitrim County Council

The beach at Clogherhead

Louth County Council

The beach at Port, Lurganboy

The beach at Seapoint

The beach at Shelling Hill/Templetown

The beach at Bertra

Mayo County Council

The beach at Carrawmore

The beach at Dooega, Achill

The beach at Doogort, Achill

Golden Strand, Achill

The beach at Keel, Achill

The beach at Keem, Achill

The beach at the Harbour, Clare Island

Ross Strand, Killala

The beach at Old Head, Louisburgh

Silver Strand, Louisburgh

The beach at Mullaghroe, Belmullet

The beach at Mulranny

The beach at Rinroe, Carratigue

The beach at Elly Bay, Belmullet

The beach at Laytown/Bettystown

Meath County Council

The beach at Enniscrone

Sligo County Council

The beach at Mullaghmore

The beach at Rosses Point

The beach at Strandhill

The beach at Ardmore

Waterford County Council

The beach at Bonmahon

The beach at Clonea

Dunmore Strand, Dunmore East

Counsellors' Strand, Dunmore East

The beach at Tramore

The bathing place The Cut, Lough Lene

Westmeath County Council

The bathing place at Lilliput, Lough Ennel

The bathing place at Portnashangan, Lough Owel





The North beach at Ballymoney

Wexford County Council

The North beach at Courtown

The beach at Curracloe

The beach at Duncannon

The beach at Morriscastle

The beach at Rosslare Strand

The beach at Brittas Bay

Wicklow County Council

The beach at Bray

The beach at Clogga

The South beach at Greystones

The beach at Silver Strand

Dollymount Strand

The Right Honourable the Lord Mayor, Aldermen and Burgesses of Dublin

The beach at Salthill Silver Strand, Galway

The Mayor, Aldermen and Burgesses of the County Borough of Galway

GIVEN under the Official Seal

of the Minister for the Environment

this 31st day of July, 1996.

Brendan Howlin


Minister for the Environment.


These Regulations amend the Quality of Bathing Waters Regulations, 1992 which give effect to Council Directive No. 76/160/EEC of 8 December, 1975 (O.J. No. L31/1, 5 February, 1976) concerning the quality of bathing water. The effect of the amendments is to apply the water quality standards, sampling programmes and pollution prevention provisions of the 1992 Regulations to an additional 8 bathing areas, bringing the total number of bathing areas covered by the Regulations to 124. Local authorities will be required to submit results of their bathing water sampling programmes to the Environmental 'Protection Agency instead of to the Minister, in such manner as directed by the Agency.