Medical Practitioners Act, 1927

Constitution of the Medical Registration Council.

3.—(1) A Council to be styled the Medical Registration Council (in this Act referred to as the Council) shall be established in accordance with this Act to fulfil the functions assigned to it by this Act.

(2) The Council shall be a body corporate having perpetual succession and may provide itself with a seal and may sue and be sued under its said style and name.

(3) The Council shall consist of eleven members nominated or elected from time to time as follows, that is to say:—

(a) two shall be nominated by the Executive Council,

(b) one shall be nominated by each of the following bodies, that is to say, University College, Dublin, University College, Cork, University College, Galway, the University of Dublin, the Apothecaries Hall of Ireland, the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland, and the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland, and

(c) two, who shall be registered medical practitioners resident in Saorstát Eireann, (in this Act referred to as direct representatives) shall be elected by the persons who are for the time being registered medical practitioners resident in Saorstát Eireann.