

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 436 of 2023

ROADS ACT 1993 (CLASSIFICATION OF NATIONAL ROADS) (AMENDMENT) ORDER 2023

S.I. No. 436 of 2023

ROADS ACT 1993 (CLASSIFICATION OF NATIONAL ROADS) (AMENDMENT) ORDER 2023

I, EAMON RYAN, Minister for Transport, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by sections 8, 10(1)(a) and (3)(a) of the Roads Act 1993 (No. 14 of 1993) and the National Roads and Road Traffic (Transfer of Departmental Administration and Ministerial Functions) Order 2002 (S.I. No. 298 of 2002), after consultation with the National Roads Authority, hereby order as follows:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Roads Act 1993 (Classification of National Roads) (Amendment) Order 2023.
- 2. In this Order, "Order of 2012" means the Roads Act 1993 (Classification of National Roads) Order 2012 (S.I. No. 53 of 2012).
- 3. The Order of 2012 is amended in Schedule 1 by the substitution of the following for the matter in column (2) opposite the mention of the national primary road N5 in column (1):

"Longford - Westport, County Mayo

Between its junction with N4 at Aghadegnan in the county of Longford and its junction with N59 at Deerpark East at Westport in the county of Mayo via Aghareagh and Kilmore Cross in the county of Longford: Termonbarry Bridge at the boundary between the county of Longford and the county of Roscommon: Graffoge, Scramoge, Farnbeg; Bridge Street and Church Street at Strokestown; Tulsk Cross, Tulsk, Toberrory, Gortnagoyne, Bellanagare, Frenchpark, Teevnacreeva, Toobrackan, and Currinah in the county of Roscommon: Fauleens, Cloonmeen West, Ballyglass East (and including link roads to N17), Mullenmadoge, Cloonlara, Kilbride, Carrowcanada, Lislackagh, Ballymiles, Barleyhill, Bohola, Bellavary. Capparanny, Clogher, Liscromwell, Doogary, Aghadrinigh, Derrylea, Drumneen, Sheean and Monamore (and including link to R309) in the county of Mayo.".

- 4. The Order of 2012 is amended in Schedule 2
 - (a) by the substitution of the following for the matter in column (2) opposite the mention of the national secondary road N59 in column (1):

"Belladrehid, County Sligo - Westport, County Mayo - Galway City

Between its junction with N4 at Belladrehid in the county of Sligo and its junction with N6 at Quincentenary Bridge Approach Road in the city of Galway via Ballysadare, Dromore West, Culleens and Carrownurlar in the county of Sligo: Dooyeaghny and Quignalegan; Bunree Bridge, Sligo Road, Cathedral Road, Ham Bridge, Emmet Street, (and via Lower Bridge), Dillon Terrace, Humbert Street, Circular Road, Pound Street, Teeling Street and Lord Edward Street at Ballina; Coolcran, Ballymanagh; Ballina Street, Main Street and Erris Street at Crossmolina; Eskeragh Bridge, Moneynierin, Bellacorick, Bangor, Croaghaun, Ballycroy, Ballyveeny, Mallaranny, Rosturk; Georges Street, Main Street and Medlicott Street at Newport; Knockychottaun, Deerpark East; Newport Road, Newport Street, North Mall, Bridge Street, Shop Street (and via James Street), Lower Peter Street, Quay Street, Quay Road and Leenane Road at Westport; Liscarney, Erriff Bridge and Aasleagh in the county of Mayo: Leenaun, Kylemore, Letterfrack, Moyard, Streamstown, Clifden, Derrylea, Ballinafad, An Gharmain, Lios Uachtair, Seanadh Chaola, Maam Cross, Bunnakill; Main Street at Oughterard; Maigh Cuilinn and Kentfield in the county of Galway: Upper Newcastle (and via Thomas Hynes Road) in the city of Galway.",

(b) by the substitution of the following for the matter in column (2) opposite the mention of the national secondary road N60 in column (1):

"Roscommon - Castlebar, County Mayo

Between its junction with N61 at Cloonbrackna in the county of Roscommon and its junction with N5 at Doogary at Castlebar in the county of Mayo via Racecourse Road, Lissagallan and Drumatemple in the county of Roscommon: Ballymoe Bridge at the boundary between the county of Roscommon and the county of Galway: Ballymoe in the county of Galway: Harristown; Saint Patrick Street and Main Street at Castlerea; Fortaugustus, Ballinlough and Scregg in the county of Roscommon: Coolnafarna, Devlis; Abbey Street, Bridge Street and Clare Street at Ballyhaunis; Hazelhill, Brickeens, Cuilmore and Clare; Inner Relief Road and Convent Road at Claremorris; Lugatemple, Brees, Balla, Moat, Manulla Bridge and Breaghwy in the county of Mayo.",

and

(c) by the substitution of the following for the matter in column (2) opposite the mention of the national secondary road N84 in column (1):

"Galway - Castlebar, County Mayo

Between its junction with N6 at Bothar na dTreabh in the city of Galway and its junction with N5 at Aghadrinagh at Castlebar in the county of Mayo via Headford Road in the city of Galway: Ceathrú an Bhrúnaigh and Castlecreevey; High Street, Main Street and Bridge Street at Headford; Racepark and Doonlaur in the county of Galway: Shrule Bridge at the boundary between the county of Galway and the county of Mayo: Shrule, Kilmaine, Ballytrasna; The

Common, Bowgate Street, Main Street (and via Glebe Street and New Street), Bridge Street, High Street and Chapel Road at Ballinrobe; Partrai and Ballyhean in the county of Mayo.".



GIVEN under my Official Seal, 31 August, 2023.

EAMON RYAN,

Minister for the Environment, Climate, Communications and Transport.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

This order amends the Schedule of the Roads Act 1993 (Classification of National Roads) Order 2012 (S.I. No. 53 of 2012) to address road classification issues regarding the N5 in County Mayo.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH
ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR
Le ceannach díreach ó
FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS,
BÓTHAR BHAILE UÍ BHEOLÁIN,
CILL MHAIGHNEANN,
BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 8,
D08 XAO6

Teil: 046 942 3100 r-phost: publications@opw.ie

DUBLIN
PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE
To be purchased from
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS,
MOUNTSHANNON ROAD,
KILMAINHAM, DUBLIN 8,
D08 XAO6

Tel: 046 942 3100 E-mail: publications@opw.ie

ISBN 978-1-3993-2587-5

€ 3.00

(RLRD-5) 75. 9/23. Propylon.