

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 613 of 2020

OIREACHTAS (ALLOWANCES) (MEMBERS AND HOLDERS OF PARLIAMENTARY AND CERTAIN MINISTERIAL OFFICES) ORDER $2020\,$

S.I. No. 613 of 2020

OIREACHTAS (ALLOWANCES) (MEMBERS AND HOLDERS OF PARLIAMENTARY AND CERTAIN MINISTERIAL OFFICES) ORDER 2020

The Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on them by sections 3 (as amended by section 39 of the Ministerial, Parliamentary and Judicial Offices and Oireachtas Members (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2001 (No. 33 of 2001) ("Act of 2001") and section 8(5) of the Houses of the Oireachtas Commission Act 2003 (No. 28 of 2003)), 3A (inserted by section 40 of the Act of 2001 and amended by section 2 of the Ministers and Secretaries and Ministerial, Parliamentary, Judicial and Court Offices (Amendment) Act 2020 (No. 10 of 2020)), 4 and 8 (as amended by section 43 of the Act of 2001) of the Oireachtas (Allowances to Members) and Ministerial, Parliamentary, Judicial and Court Offices (Amendment) Act 1998 (No. 5 of 1998), hereby order as follows:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Oireachtas (Allowances) (Members and Holders of Parliamentary and Certain Ministerial Offices) Order 2020.
- 2. There is payable to a member of Dáil Éireann who holds or held a position in Dáil Éireann specified in column (2) of Schedule 1 at any reference number, an allowance, in respect of the member's duties as holder of that position, annually at the rate specified in column (3) of that Schedule opposite that reference number, in respect of any period, beginning on or after 8 February 2020, during which the member held that position.
- 3. There is payable to a member of Seanad Éireann who holds or held a position in Seanad Éireann, specified in column (2) of Schedule 2 at any reference number, an allowance, in respect of the member's duties as holder of that position, annually at the rate specified in column (3) of that Schedule opposite that reference number, in respect of any period, beginning on or after 29 June 2020, during which the member held that position.
- 4. There is payable to a member of the Oireachtas who holds or held a position as a member of the Houses of the Oireachtas Commission an allowance in respect of the member's duties as holder of that position, at the rate of $\[\in \]$ 9,500 annually, in respect of any period, beginning on or after 29 July 2020, during which the member held that position.
 - 5. There is payable to
 - (a) Jack Chambers, Minister of State at
 - (i) the Department of the Taoiseach,

- (ii) the Department of Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media, and
- (iii) the Department of Defence,
- (b) Hildegarde Naughton, Minister of State at
 - (i) the Department of Transport, and
 - (ii) the Department of the Environment, Climate and Communications,

and

(c) Pippa Hackett, Minster of State at the Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine,

for any period beginning on or after 27 June 2020, as the holders of those offices, respectively, who regularly attend meetings of the Government, an annual allowance at the rate of $\in 11,470$.

- 6. There is payable to a member of the Oireachtas who holds or held the position of chairperson of an Oireachtas Committee specified in Schedule 3 at any reference number, an allowance, in respect of the member's duties as holder of that position, annually at the rate specified in column (3) of that Schedule opposite that reference number, in respect of any period, beginning on or after 12 May 2020, during which the member held that position.
 - 7. The following are revoked:
 - (a) the Oireachtas (Allowances) (Members and Holders of Parliamentary and Certain Ministerial Offices) Order 2017 (S.I. No. 14 of 2017);
 - (b) the Oireachtas (Allowances) (Chairpersons of Oireachtas Committees and Holders of Certain Parliamentary Offices) Order 2018 (S.I. No. 216 of 2018);
 - (c) the Oireachtas (Allowances) (Chairpersons of Oireachtas Committees) Order 2019 (S.I. No. 504 of 2019).

SCHEDULE 1

Article 2

Reference number	Position in Dáil Éireann	Rate of annual allowance	
(1)	(2)	(3)	
1.	Assistant Government Whip	€15,000	
2.	Fianna Fáil Party Whip	€10,000	
3.	Fine Gael Party Whip	€10,000	
4.	Green Party Whip	€6,000	
5.	Sinn Féin Party Whip	€19,000	
6.	Solidarity/People Before Profit Party Whip	€6,000	
7.	Labour Party Whip	€6,000	
8.	Social Democrats Party Whip	€6,000	
9.	Fianna Fáil Party Assistant Whip	€5,000	
10.	Fine Gael Party Assistant Whip	€5,000	
11.	Green Party Assistant Whip	€3,000	
12.	Sinn Féin Party Assistant Whip	€9,500	

SCHEDULE 2

Article 3

Reference number (1)	Position in Seanad Éireann (2)	Rate of annual allowance (3)
1.	Deputy Leader of the House	€9,500
2.	Government Whip	€6,000
3.	Assistant Government Whip	€4,000
4.	Sinn Féin Group Leader	€6,000
5.	Independents Group Leader	€6,000
6.	Civil Engagement Group Leader	€6,000
7.	Labour Group Leader	€6,000
8.	Sinn Féin Group Whip	€4,000
9.	Independents Group Whip	€4,000
10.	Civil Engagement Group Whip	€4,000
11.	Labour Group Whip	€4,000

SCHEDULE 3

Article 6

		1
Reference	Committee	Rate of
Number		annual
		allowance
(1)	(2)	(3)
1.	Special Committee on Covid-19 Response	€9,500
2.	Joint Committee on Climate Action	€9,500
3.	Joint Committee on Foreign Affairs and Defence	€9,500
4.	Joint Committee on Social Protection,	€9,500
	Community and Rural Development and the	
	Islands	
5.	Joint Committee on the Implementation of the	€9,500
	Good Friday Agreement	
6.	Joint Committee on Agriculture, and the Marine	€9,500
7.	Joint Committee on Justice	€9,500
8.	Joint Committee on European Affairs	€9,500
9.	Joint Committee on Finance, Public Expenditure	€9,500
	and Reform, and Taoiseach	
10.	Joint Committee on Children, Disability, Equality	€9,500
	and Integration	
11.	Joint Committee on Transport and	€9,500
10	Communications Networks	00.500
12.	Joint Committee on Enterprise, Trade and	€9,500
1.2	Employment	60.500
13.	Joint Committee on Disability Matters	€9,500
14.	Joint Committee on Media, Tourism, Arts,	€9,500
15.	Culture, Sport and the Gaeltacht	60.500
13.	Joint Committee on Education, Further Education, Research, Innovation and Science	€9,500
16.	Joint Committee on Health	€9,500
17.	Joint Committee on Housing, Local Government	€9,500
17.	and Heritage	(2),500
18.	Seanad Special Select Committee on the Future	€9,500
10.	Relationship with the UK	65,200
19.	Committee of Public Accounts	€9,500
20.	Committee on Budgetary Oversight	€9,500
21.	Committee on Members' Interests of Dáil Éireann	€9,500
22.	Committee on Members' Interests of Seanad	€3,100
	Éireann	
23.	Joint Committee on Key Issues affecting the	€9,500
	Traveller Community	
24.	Joint Committee on the Irish Language, Gaeltacht	€9,500
	and the Irish-speaking Community	
25.	Joint Committee on Public Petitions	€9,500
26.	British-Irish Parliamentary Assembly (formerly	€9,500
	the British-Irish Inter-Parliamentary Body)	



GIVEN under the Official Seal of the Government, 8 December, 2020.

MICHEÁL MARTIN, Taoiseach.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2, D02 DR67.

Teil: 076 110 6834 r-post: publications@opw.ie

DUBLIN
PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE
To be purchased from
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS,
52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2,
D02 DR67.

Tel: 076 110 6834 E-mail: publications@opw.ie

158N 978-1-4468-8477-5

€ 3.00

(CSU-54) 75. 12/20. Propylon.