

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 59 of 2014

COUNTY OF MAYO LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2014

COUNTY OF MAYO LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2014

The Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 4 and 23 of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001) and having regard to section 28(1)(d) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014), hereby orders as follows:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the County of Mayo Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2014.
- 2. (1) The County of Mayo shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of Mayo County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as referring to such electoral division as existing at the date of this Order and every reference to a former rural district shall be construed as a reference to that district as constituted immediately before the 1st day of October 1925.
- 4. The County of Mayo shall have the following municipal districts for the purposes of section 22A (inserted by the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014)) of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001):
 - (a) the Municipal District of Ballina consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Ballina;
 - (b) the Municipal District of Castlebar consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Castlebar;
 - (c) the Municipal District of Claremorris consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Claremorris:
 - (d) the Municipal District of West Mayo consisting of the Local Electoral Area of West Mayo.
- 5. The County of Mayo Local Electoral Areas Order 2008 (S.I. No. 447 of 2008) is revoked.

Schedule

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Ballina	The electoral divisions of Ardagh, Ardnaree North, Ardnaree South Rural, Ardnaree South Urban, Attymass East, Attymass West, Ballina Rural, Ballina Urban, Ballycastle, Ballysakeery, Brackloon, Callow, Carrowmore, Crossmolina North, Crossmolina South, Cuildoo, Deel, Derry, Fortland, Kilfian East, Kilfian South, Kilfian West, Kilgarvan, Killala, Lackan North, Lackan South, Meelick, Mount Falcon, Rathoma, Sallymount, Sraheen, Swineford, Toomore, Tumgesh.	8
Castlebar	The electoral divisions of Abhainn Bhrain, Addergoole, An Cheapaigh Dhuibh, Baile an Chalaidh, Baile Óbha, Balla, Ballinafad, Ballinamore, Ballyhean, Ballynagoraher, Bellavary, Bohola, Breaghwy, Burren, Burriscarra, Castlebar Rural, Castlebar Urban, Clogher (in the former Rural District of Castlebar), Cloonkeen, Croaghmoyle, Islandeady, Killavally, Killedan, Kiltamagh, Letterbrick, Manulla, Mayo, Newbrook, Partraí, Pontoon, Roslee, Strade, Tamhnaigh na Graí, Toocananagh, Turlough.	8
Claremorris	The electoral divisions of Aghamore, Ballindine, Ballinrobe, Ballyhaunis, Ballyhowly, Bekan, Caraun, Claremorris, Cloghermore, Cloonmore, Cong, Coolnaha, Coonard, Course, Crossboyne, Culnacleha, Dalgan, Doocastle, Garrymore, Hollymount, Houndswood, Kilbeagh, Kilcolman, Kilcommon, Kilkelly, Kilmaine, Kilmovee, Kilvine, Knock North, Knock South, Loughanboy, Murneen, Neale, Shrule, Sonnagh, Tagheen, Urlaur.	7
West Mayo	The electoral divisions of Acaill, Aghagower North, Aghagower South, Aillemore, An Corrán, An Geata Mór Theas, An Geata Mór Thuaidh, Ballycroy North, Ballycroy South, Bangor, Barr Rúscaí, Béal an Mhuirthead, Béal Deirg Mór, Bunaveela, Bundorragha, Clare Island, Clogher (in the former Rural District of Westport), Cnoc an Daimh, Cnoc na Lobhar, Cnoc na Ráithe, Croaghpatrick, Derryloughan, Drummin, Dumha Éige, Emlagh, Erriff, Gleann Chaisil, Gleann na Muaidhe, Glenco, Glenhest, Guala Mhór, Kilgeever, Kilmaclasser, Kilmeena, Kilsallagh, Knappagh, Louisburgh, Moing na Bó, Na Monga, Newport East, Newport West, Owennadornaun, Sheskin, Slievemahanagh, Slievemore, Srahmore, Westport Rural, Westport Urban.	7



GIVEN under the Official Seal of the Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, 31 January 2014.

PHIL HOGAN,

Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of County Mayo into local electoral areas, to fix the number of members of Mayo County Council to be elected for each such area and to determine the municipal districts for County Mayo.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN
PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE
To be purchased from
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS,
52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2.
(Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843)
or through any bookseller.

€1.27



Wt. (B30340). 285. 2/14. Clondalkin. Gr 30-15.