

## STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 52 of 2014

# COUNTY OF KILDARE LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2014

### COUNTY OF KILDARE LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2014

The Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 4 and 23 of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001) and having regard to section 28(1)(d) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014) hereby orders as follows:

1. This Order may be cited as the County of Kildare Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2014.

2. (1) The County of Kildare shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.

(2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.

(3) The number of members of Kildare County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.

3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division, shall be construed as referring to such electoral division as existing at the date of this Order and every reference to a former rural district shall be construed as a reference to that district as constituted immediately before the 1st day of October 1925.

4. A reference in the Schedule to this Order to a line drawn along a motorway shall be construed as a reference to an imaginary line drawn along the central median of such motorway.

5. The County of Kildare shall have the following municipal districts for the purposes of section 22A (inserted by the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014)) of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001):

- (*a*) the Municipal District of Athy consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Athy;
- (b) the Municipal District of Celbridge-Leixlip consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Celbridge-Leixlip;
- (c) the Municipal District of Kildare-Newbridge consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Kildare-Newbridge;

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 7th February, 2014.

- (d) the Municipal District of Maynooth consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Maynooth;
- (e) the Municipal District of Naas consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Naas.

6. The County of Kildare Local Electoral Areas Order 2008 (S.I. No. 442 of 2008) is revoked.

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Athy	The electoral divisions of Athy East Urban, Athy Rural, Athy West Urban, Ballaghmoon, Ballitore, Ballybrackan, Ballyshannon, Belan, Bert, Burtown, Carrigeen, Castledermot, Churchtown, Dunmanoge, Fontstown, Graney, Grangemellon, Harristown, Inchaquire, Johnstown, Kilberry, Kildangan, Kilkea, Kilrush, Monasterevin, Moone, Narraghmore, Nurney, Skerries, Usk.	6
Celbridge — Leixlip	The electoral divisions of Celbridge, Donaghcumper, Leixlip.	7
Kildare — Newbridge	The electoral divisions of Ballysax East, Ballysax West, Cloncurry (in the former Rural District of Edenderry), Droichead Nua (Newbridge) Urban, Dunmurry, Feighcullen, Kildare, Killinthomas, Kilmeage North, Kilmeage South, Lackagh, Lullymore, Morristownbiller, Oldconnell, Pollardstown, Quinsborough, Rathangan, Rathernan, Robertstown, Thomastown; and that part of the electoral division of Droichead Nua (Newbridge) Rural west of a line drawn along the M7	9
	Motorway, proceeding in a southerly direction to the M9 Motorway and along the said M9 Motorway.	
Maynooth	The electoral divisions of Ballynadrumny, Balraheen, Cadamstown, Carbury, Carrick, Clane, Cloncurry (in the former Rural District of Celbridge), Donadea, Downings, Drehid, Dunfierth, Kilcock, Kilpatrick, Kilrainy, Maynooth, Straffan, Timahoe North, Timahoe South, Windmill Cross.	9
Naas	The electoral divisions of Ballymore Eustace, Bodenstown, Carnalway, Carragh, Donore, Gilltown, Kilcullen, Kill, Killashee, Kilteel, Ladytown, Naas Rural, Naas Urban, Newtown, Oughterard, Rathmore;	9
	and that part of the electoral division of Droichead Nua (Newbridge) Rural not contained in the local electoral area of Kildare-Newbridge.	



GIVEN under the Official Seal of the Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, 31 January 2014.

#### PHIL HOGAN,

Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government.

**[52]** 5

### EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of County Kildare into local electoral areas, to fix the number of members of Kildare County Council to be elected for each such area and to determine the municipal districts for County Kildare.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE To be purchased from GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, 52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2. (Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) or through any bookseller.



€2.54

Wt. (B30325). 285. 2/14. Clondalkin. Gr 30-15.