

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 50 of 2014

COUNTY OF GALWAY LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2014

COUNTY OF GALWAY LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2014

The Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 4 and 23 of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001) and having regard to section 28(1)(d) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014) hereby orders as follows:

1. This Order may be cited as the County of Galway Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2014.

2. (1) The County of Galway shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.

(2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.

(3) The number of members of Galway County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.

3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as referring to such electoral division as existing at the date of this Order and every reference to a former rural district shall be construed as a reference to that district as constituted immediately before the 1st day of October 1925.

4. The County of Galway shall have the following municipal districts for the purposes of section 22A (inserted by the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014)) of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001):

- (*a*) the Municipal District of Athenry-Oranmore consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Athenry-Oranmore;
- (b) the Municipal District of Ballinasloe consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Ballinasloe;
- (c) the Municipal District of Conamara consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Conamara;
- (*d*) the Municipal District of Loughrea consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Loughrea;

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 7th February, 2014. (e) the Municipal District of Tuam consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Tuam.

5. The County of Galway Local Electoral Areas Order 2008 (S.I. No. 441 of 2008) is revoked.

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Athenry- Oranmore	The electoral divisions of An Carn Mór, Athenry, Aughrim (in the former Rural District of Galway), Baile an Teampaill, Baile Chláir, Ballynacourty, Belleville, Cappalusk, Ceathrú an Bhrúnaigh, Clarinbridge, Cloonkeen (in the former Rural District of Loughrea), Deerpark, Eanach Dhúin (in the former Rural District of Galway), Graigabbey, Greethill, Leacach Beag, Liscananaun, Lisín an Bhealaigh, Oranmore, Stradbally, Tiaquin.	7
Ballinasloe	The electoral divisions of Ahascragh, Annagh, Aughrim (in the former Rural District of Ballinasloe No. 1), Ballinasloe Rural, Ballinasloe Urban, Ballymacward, Ballynakill (in the former Rural District of Mountbellew), Caltra, Castleblakeney, Castleffrench, Clonbrock, Clonfert, Clontuskert, Cloonkeen (in the former Rural District of Mountbellew), Colmanstown, Derryglassaun, Eyrecourt, Grange, Kellysgrove, Kilconnell, Killaan, Killallaghtan, Killeroran, Killian, Killimor (in the former Rural District of Loughrea), Killoran, Killure, Kilmacshane, Kiltormer, Kylemore, Laurencetown, Lismanny, Meelick, Mount Bellew, Mounthazel, Oatfield, Taghboy.	6
Conamara	The electoral divisions of Abhainn Ghabhla, An Chorr, An Cnoc Buí, An Crompán, An Fhairche, An Ros, An Spidéal, An Turlach, An Uillinn, Árainn, Ballynakill (in the former Rural District of Clifden), Bearna, Binn an Choire, Bunowen, Camas, Cill Aithnín, Cill Chuimín (in the former Rural District of Galway), Cill Chuimín (in the former Rural District of Oughterard), Cleggan, Clifden, Cloch na Rón, Conga, Cushkillary, Derrycunlagh, Derrylea, Doonloughan, Errislannan, Gaillimh (Tuath), Garmna, Inishbofin, Leitir Breacáin, Leitir Móir, Letterfore, Maigh Cuilinn, Maíros, Na Forbacha, Oughterard, Rinvyle, Sailearna, Scainimh, Sillerna, Sliabh an Aonaigh, Tulaigh Mhic Aodháin, Wormhole.	9
Loughrea	The electoral divisions of Abbeygormacan, Abbeyville, Aille, Ardamullivan, Ardrahan, Ballycahalan, Ballyglass, Ballynagar, Beagh, Bracklagh, Bullaun, Cahermore, Cappard, Castleboy, Castletaylor, Coos, Craughwell, Derrew, Derrylaur, Doorus, Drumacoo, Drumkeary, Drummin, Gort, Kilbeacanty, Kilchreest, Kilconickny, Kilconierin, Killeely, Killeenavarra, Killimor (in the former Rural District of Portumna), Killinny, Killogilleen, Kilmalinoge, Kilmeen, Kilquain, Kilreekill, Kiltartan, Kilteskill, Kilthomas, Kiltullagh (in the former Rural District of Loughrea), Kinvarra, Lackalea, Leitrim, Loughatorick, Loughrea Rural, Loughrea Urban, Marblehill, Moat, Mountain, Moyode, Pallas, Portumna, Raford, Rahasane, Skehanagh, Tiranascragh, Tynagh, Woodford.	8
Tuam	The electoral divisions of Abbey East, Abbey West, Addergoole, Annaghdown (in the former Rural District of Tuam), Ballinastack, Ballinderry, Ballinduff, Ballymoe, Ballynakill (in the former Rural District of Glenamaddy), Ballynapark, Beaghmore, Belclare, Boyounagh, Carrownagur, Carrowrevagh, Claretuam, Clonbern, Cloonkeen (in the former Rural District of Tuam), Cooloo, Creggs, Cummer, Curraghmore, Donaghpatrick, Doonbally, Dunmore North, Dunmore South, Foxhall, Glennamaddy, Headford, Hillsbrook, Island, Kilbennan, Kilcoona, Kilcroan, Killeany, Killeen, Killererin, Killower, Killursa, Kilmoylan, Kilshanvy, Kiltullagh (in the former Rural District of Glenamaddy), Levally, Milltown, Monivea, Moyne, Raheen, Ryehill, Scregg, Shankill, Templetogher, Toberadosh, Toberroe, Tuam Rural, Tuam Urban.	9



GIVEN under the Official Seal of the Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, 31 January 2014.

PHIL HOGAN, Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government. (This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of County Galway into local electoral areas, to fix the number of members of Galway County Council to be elected for each such area and to determine the municipal districts for County Galway.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE To be purchased from GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, 52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2. (Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) or through any bookseller.



€2.54

Wt. (B30323). 285. 2/14. Clondalkin. Gr 30-15.