

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 49 of 2014

CITY OF GALWAY LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2014

CITY OF GALWAY LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2014

S.I. No. 49 of 2014

The Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 4 and 23 of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001) and having regard to section 28(1)(d) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014) hereby orders as follows:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the City of Galway Local Electoral Areas Order 2014.
- 2. (1) The City of Galway shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of Galway City Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as a reference to such area as described in the County Borough of Galway (Wards) Regulations 1986 (S.I. No. 34 of 1986) and therein referred to as a ward.
- 4. The City of Galway Local Electoral Areas Order 2008 (S.I. No. 429 of 2008) is revoked.

Schedule

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Galway City Central	The electoral divisions of Dangan, Eyre Square, Mionlach, Newcastle, Nuns Island, Rahoon, Shantalla, Toghroinn San Niocláis.	6
Galway City East	The electoral divisions of An Caisleán Gearr, Baile an Bhriotaigh, Ballybaan, Lough Atalia, Mervue, Murroogh, Renmore, Wellpark.	6
Galway City West	The electoral divisions of Bearna, Claddagh, Cnoc na Cathrach, Rockbarton, Salthill, Taylors Hill.	6



GIVEN under the Official Seal of the Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, 31 January 2014.

PHIL HOGAN,

Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of the City of Galway into local electoral areas and to fix the number of members of Galway City Council to be elected for each such area.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN
PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE
To be purchased from
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS,
52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2.
(Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843)
or through any bookseller.

€1.27



Wt. (B30322). 285. 2/14. Clondalkin. Gr 30-15.