

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 46 of 2014

COUNTY OF DUN LAOGHAIRE-RATHDOWN LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2014

COUNTY OF DUN LAOGHAIRE-RATHDOWN LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2014

The Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 4 and 23 of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001) and having regard to section 28(1)(d) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014) hereby orders as follows:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the County of Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown Local Electoral Areas Order 2014.
- 2. (1) The County of Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as referring to such electoral division as existing at the date of this Order.
- 4. (1) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to a line drawn along any road or drive shall be construed as a reference to an imaginary line drawn along the centre of such road or drive.
- (2) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to the point at which a line intersects or joins a boundary shall be construed as a reference to the point at which an imaginary line drawn along the line would intersect or join such boundary.
- (3) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to a line drawn along a road which consists of a dual carriageway shall be construed as an imaginary line drawn along the central median of such dual carriageway.
- 5. The County of Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown Local Electoral Areas Order 2008 (S.I. No. 508 of 2008) is revoked.

Schedule

		-
Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Blackrock	The electoral divisions of Blackrock-Booterstown, Blackrock-Carysfort, Blackrock-Central, Blackrock-Glenomena, Blackrock-Newpark, Blackrock-Seapoint, Blackrock-Templehill, Blackrock-Williamstown, Foxrock-Deansgrange, Stillorgan-Priory;	6
	that part of the electoral division of Blackrock- Monkstown situated west of a line drawn along Stradbrook Road;	
	and that part of the electoral division of Blackrock-Stradbrook situated west of a line drawn along Stradbrook Road.	
Dundrum	The electoral divisions of Ballinteer-Broadford, Ballinteer-Ludford, Ballinteer-Meadowbroads, Ballinteer-Meadowmount, Churchtown-Castle, Churchtown-Landscape, Churchtown-Nutgrove, Churchtown-Orwell, Churchtown-Woodlawn, Clonskeagh-Farranboley, Clonskeagh-Windy Arbour, Dundrum-Kilmacud, Dundrum-Sweetmount, Dundrum-Taney;	7
	that part of the electoral division of Ballinteer-Marley situated north of a line drawn along Grange Road;	
	that part of the electoral division of Dundrum-Balally situated north of a line drawn along Blackthorn Drive;	
	and that part of the electoral division of Dundrum-Sandyford situated north of a line drawn as follows:	
	commencing at the intersection, at the south-eastern corner of the electoral division of Ballinteer-Ludford, of the southern boundary of the electoral division of Ballinteer-Ludford and the western boundary of the electoral division of Dundrum-Sandyford, thence proceeding in an easterly direction along the southern boundary of the grounds of Gort Mhuire to the point where it meets Ballawley Park, thence commencing in an easterly direction and proceeding along the northern boundary of the said park to its intersection with the eastern boundary of the electoral division of Dundrum-Sandyford.	
Dun Laoghaire	The electoral divisions of Cabinteely-Pottery, Dalkey-Bullock, Dalkey-Coliemore, Dalkey Hill, Dalkey Upper, Dun Laoghaire-East Central, Dun Laoghaire-Glasthule, Dun Laoghaire-Glenageary, Dun Laoghaire-Monkstown Farm, Dun Laoghaire-Mount Town, Dun Laoghaire Sallynoggin East, Dun Laoghaire Sallynoggin South, Dun Laoghaire-Sallynoggin West, Dun Laoghaire-Salthill, Dun Laoghaire-Sandycove, Dun Laoghaire-West Central, Foxrock-Beechpark;	8
	that part of the electoral division of Blackrock- Monkstown not contained in the local electoral area of Blackrock;	
	and that part of the electoral division of Blackrock-Stradbrook not contained in the local electoral area of Blackrock.	

4 **[46]**

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Glencullen- Sandyford	The electoral divisions of Ballinteer-Woodpark, Cabinteely-Loughlinstown, Glencullen, Tibradden;	7
	that part of the electoral division of Ballinteer-Marley not contained in the local electoral area of Dundrum;	
	that part of the electoral division of Dundrum-Balally not contained in the local electoral area of Dundrum;	
	and that part of the electoral division of Dundrum-Sandyford not contained in the local electoral area of Dundrum.	
Killiney- Shankill	The electoral divisions of Ballybrack, Cabinteely-Granitefield, Cabinteely-Kilbogget, Dalkey-Avondale, Killiney North, Killiney South, Shankill-Rathmichael, Shankill-Rathsallagh, Shankill-Shanganagh.	6
Stillorgan	The electoral divisions of Clonskeagh-Belfield, Clonskeagh-Milltown, Clonskeagh-Roebuck, Foxrock- Carrickmines, Foxrock-Torquay, Stillorgan-Deerpark, Stillorgan-Kilmacud, Stillorgan-Leopardstown, Stillorgan- Merville, Stillorgan-Mount Merrion.	6



GIVEN under the Official Seal of the Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, 31 January 2014.

PHIL HOGAN,

Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of the County of Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown into local electoral areas and to fix the number of members of Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council to be elected for each such area.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN
PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE
To be purchased from
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS,
52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2.
(Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843)
or through any bookseller.

€2.54

