

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 44 of 2014

COUNTY OF DONEGAL LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2014

COUNTY OF DONEGAL LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2014

The Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 4 and 23 of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001) and having regard to section 28(1)(d) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014) hereby orders as follows:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the County of Donegal Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2014.
- 2. (1) The County of Donegal shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of Donegal County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as referring to such electoral division as existing at the date of this Order and every reference to a former rural district shall be construed as a reference to that district as constituted immediately before the 1st day of October 1925.
- 4. The County of Donegal shall have the following municipal districts for the purposes of section 22A (inserted by the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014)) of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001):
 - (a) the Municipal District of Donegal consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Donegal;
 - (b) the Municipal District of Glenties consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Glenties;
 - (c) the Municipal District of Inishowen consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Inishowen;
 - (d) the Municipal District of Letterkenny consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Letterkenny;

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 7th February, 2014.

- (e) the Municipal District of Stranorlar consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Stranorlar.
- $5.\,$ The County of Donegal Local Electoral Areas Order 2008 (S.I. No. 507 of 2008) is revoked.

Schedule

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Donegal	The electoral divisions of An Bhinn Bhán, An Leargaidh Mhór, Ballintra (in the former Rural District of Ballyshannon), Ballintra (in the former Rural District of Donegal), Ballyshannon Rural, Ballyshannon Urban, Bonnyglen, Bundoran Rural, Bundoran Urban, Carrickboy, Cavangarden, Cill Charthaigh, Cill Ghabhlaigh, Cliff, Clogher, Corkermore, Cró Chaorach, Crownarad, Donegal, Dunkineely, Eanymore, Gleann Cholm Cille, Grousehall, Haugh, Inver, Killybegs, Laghy, Loch Iascaigh, Málainn Bhig, Pettigoe, Tantallon, Tawnawully, Templecarn, Tieveskeelta, Tullynaught.	6
Glenties	The electoral divisions of An Clochán Liath, An Craoslach, An Dúchoraidh, An Ghrafaidh, An Machaire, Anagaire, Árainn Mhór, Ard an Rátha, Ards, Baile na Finne, Caisleán na dTuath, Críoch na Sméar, Cró Bheithe, Dawros, Dún Fionnachaidh, Dún Lúiche, Gleann Gheis, Gleann Léithín, Gort an Choirce, Inis Caoil, Inis Mhic an Doirn, Leitir Mhic an Bhaird, Maas, Machaire Chlochair, Maol Mosóg, Mín an Chladaigh, Na Croisbhealaí, Na Gleannta.	6
Inishowen	The electoral divisions of Ardmalin, Ballyliffin, Birdstown, Buncrana Rural, Buncrana Urban, Burt, Carndonagh, Carthage, Castlecary, Castleforward, Culdaff, Desertegny, Dunaff, Fahan, Gleneely (in the former Rural District of Inishowen), Gleneganon, Glentogher, Greencastle, Illies, Inch Island, Kilderry, Killea, Malin, Manorcunningham, Mintiaghs, Moville, Newtown Cunningham, Redcastle, Straid, Three Trees, Turmone, Whitecastle.	9
Letterkenny	The electoral divisions of An Cheathrú Chaol, An Tearmann, Ballyarr, Ballymacool, Carraig Airt, Castlewray, Cnoc Colbha, Corravaddy, Creamhghort, Edenacarnan, Fánaid Thiar, Fánaid Thuaidh, Gartán, Glen, Glenalla, Gortnavern, Grianfort, Killygarvan, Killymasny, Kilmacrenan, Kincraigy, Letterkenny Rural, Letterkenny Urban, Loch Caol, Magheraboy, Millford, Mín an Lábáin, Rathmelton, Rathmullan, Ros Goill, Rosnakill, Suí Corr, Templedouglas.	10
Stranorlar	The electoral divisions of Allt na Péiste, An Clochán, Castlefinn, Cloghard, Clonleigh North, Clonleigh South, Convoy, Dooish, Feddyglass, Figart, Gleneely (in the former Rural District of Stranorlar), Goland, Killygordon, Knock, Lettermore, Mín Charraigeach, Raphoe, St. Johnstown, Stranorlar, Treantaghmucklagh, Urney West.	6



GIVEN under the Official Seal of the Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, 31 January 2014.

PHIL HOGAN,

Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of County Donegal into local electoral areas, to fix the number of members of Donegal County Council to be elected for each such area and to determine the municipal districts for County Donegal.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN
PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE
To be purchased from
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS,
52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2.
(Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843)
or through any bookseller.

€2.54



Wt. (B30318). 285. 2/14. Clondalkin. Gr 30-15.