

### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 42 of 2014

COUNTY OF CLARE LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2014

# COUNTY OF CLARE LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2014

The Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 4 and 23 of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001) and having regard to section 28(1)(d) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014) hereby orders as follows:

- 1. This Order may be cited as the County of Clare Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2014.
- 2. (1) The County of Clare shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of Clare County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as referring to such electoral division as existing at the date of this Order and every reference to a former Rural District shall be construed as a reference to that district as constituted immediately before the 1st day of October 1925.
- 4. The County of Clare shall have the following municipal districts for the purposes of section 22A (inserted by the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014)) of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001):
  - (a) the Municipal District of Ennis consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Ennis;
  - (b) the Municipal District of Killaloe consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Killaloe:
  - (c) the Municipal District of Shannon consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Shannon;
  - (d) the Municipal District of West Clare consisting of the Local Electoral Area of West Clare.

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 7th February, 2014.

5. The County of Clare Local Electoral Areas Order 2008 (S.I. No. 435 of 2008) is revoked.

### Schedule

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Ennis	The electoral divisions of Clareabbey, Clooney (in the former Rural District of Tulla), Doora, Ennis No. 1 Urban, Ennis No. 2 Urban, Ennis No. 3 Urban, Ennis No. 4 Urban, Ennis Rural, Killanniv, Kilnamona, Kilraghtis, Quin, Spancelhill, Templemaley.	8
Killaloe	The electoral divisions of Abbey, Ayle, Ballyblood, Ballyeighter, Ballynahinch, Boherglass, Boston, Caher, Caherhurly, Cahermurphy (in the former Rural District of Scarriff), Cappaghabaun, Cappavilla, Carran, Carrowbaun, Castlecrine, Cloghera, Cloontra, Cloonusker, Coolreagh, Corlea, Crusheen, Dangan, Derrynagittagh, Drummaan, Fahymore, Feakle, Glendree, Glenroe, Inishcaltra North, Inishcaltra South, Kilkishen, Killaloe, Killanena, Killokennedy, Killuran, Kilseily, Kiltannon, Kiltenanlea, Kyle, Lackareagh, Loughea, Mountshannon, Muckanagh, Newgrove, O'Briensbridge, Ogonnelloe, Oughtmama, Rathclooney, Rossroe, Ruan, Scarriff, Toberbreeda, Tomfinlough, Tulla.	6
Shannon	The electoral divisions of Ballycannan, Ballyglass, Clenagh, Cratloe, Drumline, Killeely, Mountievers, Newmarket, Sixmilebridge, Urlan.	6
West Clare	The electoral divisions of Annagh, Ballagh, Ballyea, Ballynacally, Ballysteen, Ballyvaskin, Cahermurphy (in the former Rural District of Kilrush), Castletown, Cloghaun, Clondagad, Cloonadrum, Cloonanaha, Clooncoorha, Clooney (in the former Rural District of Ennistimon), Coolmeen, Cooraclare, Corrofin, Creegh, Derreen, Doonbeg, Drumcreehy, Drumellihy, Dysert, Einagh, Ennistimon, Formoyle, Furroor, Gleninagh, Glenmore, Kilballyowen, Kilchreest, Kilcloher, Kilfearagh, Kilfenora, Kilfiddane, Kilkee, Killadysert, Killard, Killaspuglonane, Killilagh, Killimer, Killinaboy, Killofin, Killone, Kilmihil, Kilmurry (in the former Rural District of Kilrush), Kilrush Rural, Kilrush Urban, Kilshanny, Kiltoraght, Kinturk, Knock, Knocknaboley, Knocknagore, Liscannor, Liscasey, Lisdoonvarna, Lisheen, Lurraga, Magherareagh, Milltown Malbay, Mount Elva, Moveen, Moy, Moyarta, Mullagh, Noughaval, Querrin, Rahona, Rath, Rathborney, Rinealon, Smithstown, St. Martin's, Tullig, Tullycreen.	8



GIVEN under the Official Seal of the Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government. 31 January 2014.

## PHIL HOGAN,

Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government.

#### EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation).

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of County Clare into local electoral areas, to fix the number of members of Clare County Council to be elected for each such area and to determine the municipal districts for County Clare.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN
PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE
To be purchased from
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS,
52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2.
(Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843)
or through any bookseller.

€2.54

