

## STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

S.I. No. 508 of 2008

COUNTY OF DÚN LAOGHAIRE-RATHDOWN LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

# COUNTY OF DÚN LAOGHAIRE-RATHDOWN LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

The Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 3 and 24 of the Local Government Act 1994 (No. 8 of 1994), hereby orders as follows:

- 1. This order may be cited as the County of Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown Local Electoral Areas Order 2008.
- 2. (1) The County of Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as referring to such electoral division as existing at the date of this Order.
- 4. (1) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to a line drawn along any road or drive shall be construed as a reference to an imaginary line drawn along the centre of such road or drive.
- (2) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to the point at which any road or drive intersects or joins any other road or drive shall be construed as a reference to the point at which an imaginary line drawn along the centre of one would be intersected or joined by an imaginary line drawn along the centre of the other.
- (3) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to the point at which a line intersects or joins a boundary shall be construed as a reference to the point at which an imaginary line drawn along the line would intersect or join such boundary.
- (4) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to a line drawn along a road which consists of a dual carriageway shall be construed as an imaginary line drawn along the central median of such dual carriageway.

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 5th December, 2008.

5. The County of Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown Local Electoral Areas Order 1998 (S.I. No. 341 of 1998) is hereby revoked.

## **SCHEDULE**

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Ballybrack	The electoral divisions of Ballybrack, Cabinteely-Granitefield, Cabinteely- Kilbogget, Dalkey-Avondale, Killiney North, Killiney South, Shankill-Rathmichael, Shankill-Rathsallagh, Shankill-Shanganagh.	5
Blackrock	The electoral divisions of Blackrock-Booterstown, Blackrock-Carysfort, Blackrock-Central, Blackrock-Glenomena, Blackrock-Newpark, Blackrock-Seapoint, Blackrock-Templehill, Blackrock-Williamstown, Foxrock-Deansgrange, Stillorgan-Priory; that part of the electoral division of Blackrock-Monkstown situated west of a line drawn along Stradbrook Road; and that part of the electoral division of Blackrock-Stradbrook situated west of a line drawn along Stradbrook Road.	4
Dundrum	The electoral divisions of Ballinteer-Broadford, Ballinteer-Ludford, Ballinteer-Meadowmount, Churchtown-Castle, Churchtown-Landscape, Churchtown-Nutgrove, Churchtown-Orwell, Churchtown-Woodlawn, Clonskeagh-Farranboley, Clonskeagh-Milltown, Clonskeagh-Windy Arbour, Dundrum-Kilmacud, Dundrum-Sweetmount, Dundrum-Taney;  that part of the electoral division of Ballinteer-Marley situated north of a line drawn along Grange Road;  that part of the electoral division of Dundrum-Balally situated north of a line drawn along Blackthorn Drive;  and that part of the electoral division of Dundrum-Sandyford situated north of a line drawn as follows:  commencing at the intersection, at the southeastern corner of the electoral division of Ballinteer-Ludford, of the southern boundary of the electoral division of Ballinteer-Ludford and the western boundary of the electoral division of Dundrum-Sandyford, thence proceeding in an easterly direction along the southern boundary of the grounds of Gort Mhuire to the point where it meets Ballawley Park, thence commencing in an easterly direction and proceeding along the northern boundary of the said park to its intersection with the eastern boundary of the electoral division of Dundrum-Sandyford.	5

## 4 [508]

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Dún Laoghaire	The electoral divisions of Cabinteely-Pottery, Dalkey-Bullock, Dalkey-Coliemore, Dalkey Hill, Dalkey Upper, Dún Laoghaire-East Central, Dún Laoghaire-Glasthule, Dún Laoghaire-Glenageary, Dún Laoghaire-Monkstown Farm, Dún Laoghaire-Mount Town, Dún Laoghaire-Sallynoggin East, Dún Laoghaire-Sallynoggin South, Dún Laoghaire-Sallynoggin West, Dún Laoghaire-Salthill, Dún Laoghaire-Sandycove, Dún Laoghaire-West Central, Foxrock-Beechpark; that part of the electoral division of Blackrock-Monkstown not contained in the local electoral area of Blackrock; and that part of the electoral division of Blackrock-Stradbrook not contained in the local electoral area of Blackrock.	6
Glencullen-Sandyford	The electoral divisions of Ballinteer- Woodpark, Cabinteely-Loughlinstown, Glencullen, Tibradden;	4
	that part of the electoral division of Ballinteer-Marley not contained in the local electoral area of Dundrum;	
	that part of the electoral division of Dundrum-Balally not contained in the local electoral area of Dundrum;	
	and that part of the electoral division of Dundrum-Sandyford not contained in the local electoral area of Dundrum.	
Stillorgan	The electoral divisions of Clonskeagh-Belfield, Clonskeagh-Roebuck, Foxrock-Carrickmines, Foxrock-Torquay, Stillorgan-Deerpark, Stillorgan-Kilmacud, Stillorgan-Leopardstown, Stillorgan-Merville, Stillorgan-Mount Merrion.	4



GIVEN under my Official Seal, 27 November 2008

JOHN GORMLEY,

Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government.

### EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation).

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of the County of Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown into local electoral areas and to fix the number of members of Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council to be elected for each such area.

## BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR

Le ceannach díreach ón

OIFIG DHÍOLTA FOILSEACHÁN RIALTAIS, TEACH SUN ALLIANCE, SRÁID THEACH LAIGHEAN, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2, nó tríd an bpost ó

FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, AN RANNÓG POST-TRÁCHTA, AONAD 20 PÁIRC MIONDÍOLA COIS LOCHA, CLÁR CHLAINNE MHUIRIS, CONTAE MHAIGH EO,

(Teil: 01 - 6476834/37 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 nó 094 - 9378964) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

#### DUBLIN

PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE

To be purchased directly from the

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS SALE OFFICE

SUN ALLIANCE HOUSE, MOLESWORTH STREET, DUBLIN 2,

or by mail order from

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, POSTAL TRADE SECTION, UNIT 20 LAKESIDE RETAIL PARK, CLAREMORRIS, CO. MAYO, (Tel: 01 - 6476834/37 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 or 094 - 9378964) or through any bookseller.

€2.54

