

### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

S.I. No. 452 of 2008

\_\_\_\_

COUNTY OF WEXFORD LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

#### COUNTY OF WEXFORD LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

The Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 3 and 24 of the Local Government Act 1994 (No. 8 of 1994), hereby orders as follows:

- 1. This order may be cited as the County of Wexford Local Electoral Areas Order 2008.
- 2. (1) The County of Wexford shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of Wexford County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division, borough or town shall be construed as referring to such electoral division, borough or town as existing at the date of this Order and every reference to a former rural district shall be construed as a reference to that district as constituted immediately before the 1st day of October 1925.
- 4. The County of Wexford Local Electoral Areas Order 1998 (S.I. No. 414 of 1998) is hereby revoked.

# SCHEDULE

| Name of Local  | Description of Local Electoral Area   | Number of Members                           |
|----------------|---|---|
| Electoral Area | Description of Local Electoral Area   | to be elected for each Local Electoral Area |
| Enniscorthy    | The town of Enniscorthy and the electoral divisions of Ballindaggan, Ballycarney, Ballyhoge, Ballyhuskard, Bolaboy, Bree, Castle Ellis, Castle Talbot, Castleboro, Castledockrell, Edermine, Enniscorthy Rural, Kilcormick, Killann, Killoughrum, Kilmallock, Kiltealy, Marshalstown, Newtownbarry, Rossard, St. Mary's, The Leap, Tinnacross.  | 5   |
| Gorey          | The electoral divisions of Ardamine, Balloughter, Ballybeg, Ballycanew, Ballyellis, Ballygarrett, Ballylarkin, Ballymore, Ballynestragh, Ballyvaldon, Cahore, Coolgreany, Courtown, Ferns, Ford, Gorey Rural, Gorey Urban, Huntingtown, Kilbora, Kilcomb, Kilgorman, Killenagh, Killincooly, Kilnahue, Kilrush, Limerick, Monamolin, Monaseed, Moyacomb, Rossminoge, The Harrow, Tombrack, Wells, Wingfield.                                  | 5   |
| New Ross       | The town of New Ross and the electoral divisions of Adamstown, Ballyanne, Ballyhack, Ballymitty, Bannow, Barrack Village, Barronstown, Carnagh, Carrickbyrne, Clongeen, Clonleigh, Clonroche, Dunmain, Fethard, Harristown, Horetown, Inch, Killesk, Kilmokea, Newbawn, New Ross Rural, Old Ross, Oldcourt, Rathroe, Rochestown, Templeludigan, Templetown, Tintern, Whitechurch (in the former Rural District of New Ross), Whitemoor.       | 4   |
| Wexford        | The borough of Wexford and the electoral divisions of Ardcavan, Ardcolm, Artramon, Aughwilliam, Bridgetown, Carrick, Drinagh, Duncormick, Forth, Glynn, Harperstown, Kilbride, Kilcowan, Kilgarvan, Killag, Killinick, Killurin, Kilmore, Kilpatrick, Kilscoran, Lady's Island, Mayglass, Newcastle, Rathaspick, Rosslare, St. Helen's, Tacumshin, Taghmon, Tomhaggard, Wexford Rural, Whitechurch (in the former Rural District of Wexford). | 7   |

GIVEN under my Official Seal, 31 October 2008.

# JOHN GORMLEY,

Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government.

### EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation).

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of County Wexford into local electoral areas and to fix the number of members of Wexford County Council to be elected for each such area.

### BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR

Le ceannach díreach ón

OIFIG DHÍOLTA FOILSEACHÁN RIALTAIS, TEACH SUN ALLIANCE, SRÁID THEACH LAIGHEAN, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2, nó tríd an bpost ó

FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, AN RANNÓG POST-TRÁCHTA, AONAD 20 PÁIRC MIONDÍOLA COIS LOCHA, CLÁR CHLAINNE MHUIRIS, CONTAE MHAIGH EO,

(Teil: 01 - 6476834/37 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 nó 094 - 9378964) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

#### DUBLIN

PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE

To be purchased directly from the

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS SALE OFFICE

SUN ALLIANCE HOUSE, MOLESWORTH STREET, DUBLIN 2,

or by mail order from

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, POSTAL TRADE SECTION, UNIT 20 LAKESIDE RETAIL PARK, CLAREMORRIS, CO. MAYO, (Tel: 01 - 6476834/37 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 or 094 - 9378964) or through any bookseller.

€2.54

