

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

S.I. No. 451 of 2008

COUNTY OF WESTMEATH LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

S.I. No. 451 of 2008

COUNTY OF WESTMEATH LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

The Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 3 and 24 of the Local Government Act 1994 (No. 8 of 1994), hereby orders as follows:

- 1. This order may be cited as the County of Westmeath Local Electoral Areas Order 2008.
- 2. (1) The County of Westmeath shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of Westmeath County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division or town shall be construed as referring to such electoral division or town as existing at the date of this Order.
- 4. A reference in the Schedule to this Order to a line drawn along a railway line shall be construed as a reference to an imaginary line drawn along the centre of such railway line.
- 5. The County of Westmeath Local Electoral Areas Order 1998 (S.I. No. 340 of 1998) is hereby revoked.

SCHEDULE

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Athlone	The town of Athlone and the electoral divisions of Athlone East Rural, Carn, Castledaly, Glassan, Killinure, Moate, Moydrum, Tubbrit.	6
Coole	The electoral divisions of Ballinlough, Ballyhealy, Ballynaskeagh, Boherquill, Bracklin, Clonarney, Clonlost, Collinstown, Coole, Coolure, Copperalley, Delvin, Derrymore, Faughalstown, Finnea, Fore East, Fore West, Glore, Hilltown, Kilcumny, Killua, Killucan, Killulagh, Kilpatrick, Kinturk, Knockarrow, Lackan, Multyfarnham, Raharney, Riverdale, Rosmead, Street, Stonehall, Taghmon, Woodland.	4
Kilbeggan	The electoral divisions of Auburn, Ardnaglew, Ardnagragh, Ballybroder, Ballykilmore, Ballymore, Ballymorin, Ballynagore, Bellanalack, Carrick, Castlelost, Castletown, Churchtown, Clonfad, Doonis, Drumraney, Dysart, Jamestown, Kilbeggan, Kilcumreragh, Killare, Lauree, Middleton, Mount Temple, Muckanagh, Newtown, Noughaval, Rahugh, Streamstown, Templepatrick, Umma, Winetown.	4
Mullingar East	The electoral divisions of Castle, Cloghan, Enniscoffey, Gaybrook, Griffinstown, Heathstown, Huntingdon, Kinnegad, Knockdrin, Milltown, Owel, Russellstown; and those parts of the electoral divisions of Mullingar Rural, Mullingar North Urban and Mullingar South Urban situated north and east of a line drawn along the Dublin-Sligo railway line.	4
Mullingar West	The electoral divisions of Ballinalack, Belvidere, Emper, Glenlough, Greenpark, Hopestown, Kilbixy, Piercetown, Portloman, Rathconrath, Rathowen, Skeagh, Sonna, Tullaghan; and those parts of the electoral divisions of Mullingar Rural, Mullingar North Urban and Mullingar South Urban not contained in the local electoral area of Mullingar East.	5



GIVEN under my Official Seal, 31 October 2008.

JOHN GORMLEY,

Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation).

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of County Westmeath into local electoral areas and to fix the number of members of Westmeath County Council to be elected for each such area.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR

Le ceannach díreach ón

OIFIG DHÍOLTA FOILSEACHÁN RIALTAIS, TEACH SUN ALLIANCE, SRÁID THEACH LAIGHEAN, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2, nó tríd an bpost ó

FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, AN RANNÓG POST-TRÁCHTA, AONAD 20 PÁIRC MIONDÍOLA COIS LOCHA, CLÁR CHLAINNE MHUIRIS, CONTAE MHAIGH EO,

(Teil: 01 - 6476834/37 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 nó 094 - 9378964) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN

PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE

To be purchased directly from the

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS SALE OFFICE

SUN ALLIANCE HOUSE, MOLESWORTH STREET, DUBLIN 2,

or by mail order from

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, POSTAL TRADE SECTION, UNIT 20 LAKESIDE RETAIL PARK, CLAREMORRIS, CO. MAYO, (Tel: 01 - 6476834/37 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 or 094 - 9378964) or through any bookseller.

€2.54

