

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

S.I. No. 450 of 2008

COUNTY OF WATERFORD LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

(Prn. A8/1726)

COUNTY OF WATERFORD LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

The Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 3 and 24 of the Local Government Act 1994 (No. 8 of 1994), hereby orders as follows:

1. This order may be cited as the County of Waterford Local Electoral Areas Order 2008.

2. (1) The County of Waterford shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.

(2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.

(3) The number of members of Waterford County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.

3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division or town shall be construed as referring to such electoral division or town as existing at the date of this Order and every reference to a former rural district shall be construed as a reference to that district as constituted immediately before the 1st day of October 1925.

4. The County of Waterford Local Electoral Areas Order 1998 (S.I. No. 338 of 1998) is hereby revoked.

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 7th November, 2008.

SCHEDULE

| Name of Local Electoral Area | Description of Local Electoral Area | Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area |
|---------------------------------|--|---|
| Comeragh | The electoral divisions of Annestown, Ballydurn, Ballylaneen, Ballymacarbry, Carrigcastle, Carrickbeg Rural, Clonea (in the former Rural District of Carrick-on-Suir No. 2), Comeragh, Dunhill, Fenoagh, Fews, Fox's Castle, Gardenmorris, Georgestown, Glen, Graignagower, Gurteen, Kilbarrymeaden, Kilmacomma, Kilmacthomas, Kilmeaden (in the former Rural District of Carrick-on-Suir No. 2), Kilmeaden (in the former Rural District of Waterford No. 1), Kilronan, Knockaunbrandaun, Knockmahon, Mothel, Mountkennedy, Newcastle, Newtown, Portlaw, Rathgormuck, Ross, St. Mary's, Stradbally, Tinnasaggart. | 6 |
| Dungarvan | The town of Dungarvan and the electoral divisions of Ardmore (in the former Rural District of Youghal No. 2), Aird Mhór (in the former Rural District of Dungarvan), An Rinn, Baile Mhac Airt, Bohadoon, Cappagh, Carriglea, Clonea (in the former Rural District of Dungarvan), Colligan, Coumaraglin, Dungarvan Rural, Glenwilliam, Grallagh, Grange, Kinsalebeg, Modelligo (in the former Rural District of Dungarvan), Mountstuart. | 6 |
| Lismore | The electoral divisions of Ballyduff, Ballyhane, Ballyheeny, Ballyin, Ballynamult, Ballysaggartmore, Cappoquin, Castlerichard, Clashmore, Dromana, Dromore, Drumroe, Gortnapeaky, Keereen, Kilcockan, Kilwatermoy East, Kilwatermoy West, Lismore Rural, Lismore Urban, Mocollop, Modelligo (in the former Rural District of Lismore), Seskinan, Tallow, Templemichael, Whitechurch. | 4 |
| Tramore | The electoral divisions of Ballynakill, Drumcannon, Faithlegg, Islandikane, Kilbarry, Killea, Killoteran, Kilmacleague, Pembrokestown, Rathmoylon, Reisk, Tramore, Woodstown. | 7 |

4 **[450]**



GIVEN under my Official Seal, 31 October 2008.

JOHN GORMLEY, Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government.

[450] 5

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation).

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of County Waterford into local electoral areas and to fix the number of members of Waterford County Council to be elected for each such area. BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ón OIFIG DHÍOLTA FOILSEACHÁN RIALTAIS, TEACH SUN ALLIANCE, SRÁID THEACH LAIGHEAN, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2, nó tríd an bpost ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, AN RANNÓG POST-TRÁCHTA, AONAD 20 PÁIRC MIONDÍOLA COIS LOCHA, CLÁR CHLAINNE MHUIRIS, CONTAE MHAIGH EO, (Teil: 01 - 6476834/37 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 nó 094 - 9378964) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

> DUBLIN PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE To be purchased directly from the GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS SALE OFFICE SUN ALLIANCE HOUSE, MOLESWORTH STREET, DUBLIN 2, or by mail order from GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, POSTAL TRADE SECTION, UNIT 20 LAKESIDE RETAIL PARK, CLAREMORRIS, CO. MAYO, (Tel: 01 - 6476834/37 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 or 094 - 9378964) or through any bookseller.



€2.54

Wt. (B26433). 285. 11/08. Cahill. Gr. 30-15.