

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

S.I. No. 447 of 2008

COUNTY OF MAYO LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

(Prn. A8/1723)

COUNTY OF MAYO LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

The Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 3 and 24 of the Local Government Act 1994 (No. 8 of 1994), hereby orders as follows:

1. This order may be cited as the County of Mayo Local Electoral Areas Order 2008.

2. (1) The County of Mayo shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.

(2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.

(3) The number of members of Mayo County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.

3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division or town shall be construed as referring to such electoral division or town as existing at the date of this Order and every reference to a former rural district shall be construed as a reference to that district as constituted immediately before the 1st day of October 1925.

4. The County of Mayo Local Electoral Areas Order 1998 (S.I. No. 435 of 1998) is hereby revoked.

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 7th November, 2008.

SCHEDULE

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Ballina	The town of Ballina and the electoral divisions of Ardagh, Ardnaree North, Ardnaree South Rural, Attymass East, Attymass West, Ballina Rural, Ballysakeery, Carrowmore, Crossmolina North, Crossmolina South, Deel, Derry, Fortland, Kilfian East, Kilfian South, Kilgarvan, Killala, Lackan South, Mount Falcon, Rathoma, Sallymount.	6
Belmullet	The electoral divisions of Acaill, An Corrán, An Geata Mór Theas, An Geata Mór Thuaidh, Ballycastle, Ballycroy North, Ballycroy South, Bangor, Barr Rúscaí, Béal Deirg Mór, Béal an Mhuirthead, Bunaveela, Cnoc an Daimh, Cnoc na Lobhar, Cnoc na Ráithe, Dumha Éige, Guala Mhór, Gleann Chaisil, Gleann na Muaidhe, Glenco, Kilfian West, Lackan North, Moing na Bó, Na Monga, Newport East, Newport West, Sheskin, Slievemore, Srahmore.	4
Castlebar	The town of Castlebar and the electoral divisions of Abhainn Bhrain, Addergoole, An Cheapaigh Dhuibh, Balla, Baile an Chalaidh, Baile Óbha, Ballinafad, Ballyhean, Ballynagoraher, Bellavary, Breaghwy, Burren, Burriscarra, Castlebar Rural, Clogher (in the former Rural District of Castlebar), Cloonkeen, Croaghmoyle, Islandeady, Killavally, Letterbrick, Manulla, Partraí, Pontoon, Roslee, Strade, Tamhnaigh na Graí, Turlough.	7
Claremorris	The electoral divisions of Ballindine, Ballinrobe, Ballyhaunis, Ballyhowly, Bekan, Caraun, Claremorris, Cloghermore, Cong, Coonard, Coolnaha, Course, Crossboyne, Culnacleha, Dalgan, Garrymore, Hollymount, Houndswood, Kilcolman, Kilcommon, Kilmaine, Kilvine, Knock North, Knock South, Loughanboy, Mayo, Murneen, Neale, Newbrook, Shrule, Tagheen.	6
Swinford	The electoral divisions of Aghamore, Ballinamore, Bohola, Brackloon, Callow, Cloonmore, Cuildoo, Doocastle, Kilbeagh, Kilkelly, Killedan, Kilmovee, Kiltamagh, Meelick, Sonnagh, Sraheen, Swineford, Toocananagh, Toomore, Tumgesh, Urlaur.	4
Westport	The town of Westport and the electoral divisions of Aghagower North, Aghagower South, Aillemore, Bundorragha, Clare Island, Clogher (in the former Rural District of Westport), Croaghpatrick, Derryloughan, Drummin, Emlagh, Erriff, Glenhest, Kilgeever, Kilmaclasser, Kilmeena, Kilsallagh, Knappagh, Louisburgh, Owennadornaun, Slievemahanagh, Westport Rural.	4

4 **[447]**



GIVEN under my Official Seal, 31 October 2008.

JOHN GORMLEY, Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government.

[447] 5

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation).

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of County Mayo into local electoral areas and to fix the number of members of Mayo County Council to be elected for each such area.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ón OIFIG DHÍOLTA FOILSEACHÁN RIALTAIS, TEACH SUN ALLIANCE, SRÁID THEACH LAIGHEAN, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2, nó tríd an bpost ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, AN RANNÓG POST-TRÁCHTA, AONAD 20 PÁIRC MIONDÍOLA COIS LOCHA, CLÁR CHLAINNE MHUIRIS, CONTAE MHAIGH EO, (Teil: 01 - 6476834/37 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 nó 094 - 9378964) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

> DUBLIN PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE To be purchased directly from the GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS SALE OFFICE SUN ALLIANCE HOUSE, MOLESWORTH STREET, DUBLIN 2, or by mail order from GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, POSTAL TRADE SECTION, UNIT 20 LAKESIDE RETAIL PARK, CLAREMORRIS, CO. MAYO, (Tel: 01 - 6476834/37 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 or 094 - 9378964) or through any bookseller.



€2.54

Wt. (B26434). 285. 11/08. Cahill. Gr. 30-15.