

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 444 of 2008

COUNTY OF LAOIS LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

S.I. No. 444 of 2008

COUNTY OF LAOIS LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

The Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 3 and 24 of the Local Government Act 1994 (No. 8 of 1994), hereby orders as follows:

- 1. This order may be cited as the County of Laois Local Electoral Areas Order 2008.
- 2. (1) The County of Laois shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of Laois County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as referring to such electoral division as existing at the date of this Order.
- 4. The County of Laois Local Electoral Areas Order 1998 (S.I. No. 339 of 1998) is hereby revoked.

SCHEDULE

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Borris-in-Ossory	The electoral divisions of Abbeyleix, Aghmacart, Ballinakill, Ballybrophy, Borris-in-Ossory, Caher, Castletown, Clash, Clonin, Clonmore, Coolrain, Cuffsborough, Cullahill, Donaghmore, Donore, Dunmore, Durrow, Errill, Grantstown, Kilcoke, Kildellig, Killermogh, Kilnaseer, Kyle, Kyle South, Marymount, Moneenalassa, Moneymore, Mountrath, Nealstown, Raheen, Rathdowney, Rathsaran, Trumra.	6
Emo	The electoral divisions of Ballybrittas, Ballycarroll, Curraclone, Emo, Jamestown, Kilmullen, Kilmurry, Moyanna, Portarlington South, Sallyford, Stradbally, Vicarstown.	4
Luggacurren	The electoral divisions of Ardough, Arless, Ballickmoyler, Ballyadams, Ballylehane, Ballylynan, Barrowhouse, Blandsfort, Doonane, Dysartgallen, Farnans, Fossy, Graigue Rural (excluding the area transferred to County Carlow for electoral purposes under Article 5(b) of the Local Government (Boundaries) (Town Elections) Regulations 1994 (S.I. No. 114 of 1994)), Killabban, Luggacurren, Newtown, Rathaspick, Rossmore, Shrule, Tankardstown, Timahoe, Timogue, Turra.	4
Mountmellick	The electoral divisions of Arderin, Ballyfin, Brisha, Capard, Cappalough, Cardtown, Castlecuffe, Clonaslee, Dangans, Garrymore, Graigue, Lacka, Meelick, Mountmellick Rural, Mountmellick Urban, O'More's Forest, Rearymore, Rosenallis, Tinnahinch.	4
Portlaoise	The electoral divisions of Ballyroan, Borris, Clondarrig, Clonkeen, Colt, Cullenagh, Kilcolmanbane, Portlaoighise Rural, Portlaoighise Urban, Shaen.	7



GIVEN under my Official Seal, 31 October 2008.

JOHN GORMLEY,

Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation).

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of County Laois into local electoral areas and to fix the number of members of Laois County Council to be elected for each such area.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR

Le ceannach díreach ón OIFIG DHÍOLTA FOILSEACHÁN RIALTAIS, TEACH SUN ALLIANCE, SRÁID THEACH LAIGHEAN, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2, nó tríd an bpost ó

FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, AN RANNÓG POST-TRÁCHTA, AONAD 20 PÁIRC MIONDÍOLA COIS LOCHA, CLÁR CHLAINNE MHUIRIS, CONTAE MHAIGH EO.

(Teil: 01 - 6476834/37 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 nó 094 - 9378964) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN

PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE

To be purchased directly from the

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS SALE OFFICE

SUN ALLIANCE HOUSE, MOLESWORTH STREET, DUBLIN 2,

or by mail order from

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, POSTAL TRADE SECTION, UNIT 20 LAKESIDE RETAIL PARK, CLAREMORRIS, CO. MAYO, (Tel: 01 - 6476834/37 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 or 094 - 9378964) or through any bookseller.

€1.27



Wt. (B26378). 285. 11/08. Cahill. Gr. 30-15.