

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 442 of 2008

COUNTY OF KILDARE LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

S.I. No. 442 of 2008

COUNTY OF KILDARE LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

The Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 3 and 24 of the Local Government Act 1994 (No. 8 of 1994), hereby orders as follows:

- 1. This order may be cited as the County of Kildare Local Electoral Areas Order 2008.
- 2. (1) The County of Kildare shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of Kildare County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division, town or townland shall be construed as referring to such electoral division, town or townland as existing at the date of this Order and every reference to a former rural district shall be construed as a reference to that district as constituted immediately before the 1st day of October 1925.
- 4. A reference in the Schedule to this Order to a line drawn along a motorway shall be construed as a reference to an imaginary line drawn along the central median of such motorway.
- 5. The County of Kildare Local Electoral Areas Order 1998 (S.I. No. 336 of 1998) is hereby revoked.

SCHEDULE

| Name of Local Electoral Area | Description of Local Electoral Area | Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area |
|---------------------------------|---|---|
| Athy | The town of Athy and the electoral divisions of Athy Rural, Ballaghmoon, Ballitore, Ballybrackan, Ballymore Eustace, Ballyshannon, Belan, Bert, Burtown, Carrigeen, Castledermot, Churchtown, Dunmanoge, Fontstown, Gilltown, Graney, Grangemellon, Harristown, Inchaquire, Johnstown, Kilberry, Kilcullen, Kilkea, Kilrush, Moone, Narraghmore, Nurney, Skerries, Usk. | 4 |
| Celbridge | The electoral divisions of Donaghcumper, Celbridge, Leixlip, Maynooth, Straffan. | 6 |
| Clane | The electoral divisions of Ballynadrumny, Balraheen, Cadamstown, Carbury, Carrick, Clane, Cloncurry (in the former Rural District of Celbridge), Donadea, Downings, Drehid, Dunfierth, Kilcock, Kilpatrick, Kilrainy, Robertstown, Timahoe North, Timahoe South, Windmill Cross; and the townlands of Ballyhays, Baronrath, | 4 |
| | Blackhall, Clownings, Daars North, Daars South, Keeloges, Killeenmore, Ladycastle Lower, Ladycastle Upper, Ladyhill, Littlerath, Prospect, Rathmore, Shortwood, Turnings, Turnings Lower, Turnings Upper and Whitechurch in the electoral division of Bodenstown. | |
| Kildare | The electoral divisions of Ballysax East, Ballysax West, CIoncurry (in the former Rural District of Edenderry), Droichead Nua (Newbridge) Urban, Dunmurry, Feighcullen, Kildangan, Kildare, Killinthomas, Kilmeage North, Kilmeage South, Lackagh, Lullymore, Monasterevin, Morristownbiller, Oldconnell, Pollardstown, Quinsborough, Rathangan, Rathernan, Thomastown; | 6 |
| | and that part of the electoral division of Droichead Nua (Newbridge) Rural west of a line drawn along the M7 Motorway, proceeding in a southerly direction to the M9 Motorway and along the said M9 Motorway. | |
| Naas | The town of Naas and the electoral divisions of Carnalway, Carragh, Donore, Kill, Killashee, Kilteel, Ladytown, Naas Rural, Oughterard, Newtown, Rathmore; | 5 |
| | the townlands of Bodenstown, Castlesize, Sallins, Sherlockstown, Sherlockstown Common in the electoral division of Bodenstown; | |
| | and that part of the electoral division of Droichead Nua (Newbridge) Rural not contained in the local electoral area of Kildare. | |

GIVEN under my Official Seal, 31 October 2008.

JOHN GORMLEY,

Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation).

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of County Kildare into local electoral areas and to fix the number of members of Kildare County Council to be elected for each such area.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR

Le ceannach díreach ón

OIFIG DHÍOLTA FOILSEACHÁN RIALTAIS, TEACH SUN ALLIANCE, SRÁID THEACH LAIGHEAN, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2, nó tríd an bpost ó

FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, AN RANNÓG POST-TRÁCHTA, AONAD 20 PÁIRC MIONDÍOLA COIS LOCHA, CLÁR CHLAINNE MHUIRIS, CONTAE MHAIGH EO,

(Teil: 01 - 6476834/37 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 nó 094 - 9378964) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN

PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE

To be purchased directly from the

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS SALE OFFICE

SUN ALLIANCE HOUSE, MOLESWORTH STREET, DUBLIN 2,

or by mail order from

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, POSTAL TRADE SECTION, UNIT 20 LAKESIDE RETAIL PARK, CLAREMORRIS, CO. MAYO, (Tel: 01 - 6476834/37 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 or 094 - 9378964) or through any bookseller.

€2.54

