

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

S.I. No. 435 of 2008

COUNTY OF CLARE LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

S.I. No. 435 of 2008

COUNTY OF CLARE LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

The Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 3 and 24 of the Local Government Act 1994 (No. 8 of 1994), hereby orders as follows:

- 1. This order may be cited as the County of Clare Local Electoral Areas Order 2008.
- 2. (1) The County of Clare shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of Clare County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. (1) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to a line drawn along any road or street shall be construed as a reference to an imaginary line drawn along the centre of such road or street.
- (2) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to the point at which any road, street or boundary intersects or joins any other road, street or boundary shall be construed as a reference to the point at which an imaginary line drawn along the centre of such road or street or, in the case of a boundary, along such boundary would be intersected or joined by an imaginary line drawn along the centre of the other road or street or, in the case of a boundary, along the boundary.
- (3) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to a line drawn along a road which consists of a dual carriageway shall be construed as an imaginary line drawn along the central median of such dual carriageway.
- 4. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division or town shall be construed as referring to such electoral division or town as existing at the date of this Order and every reference to a former rural district shall be construed as a reference to that district as constituted immediately before the 1st day of October 1925.
- 5. The County of Clare Local Electoral Areas Order 1998 (S.I. No. 335 of 1998) is hereby revoked.

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 7th November, 2008.

SCHEDULE

	I	
Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Ennis East	Those parts of the town of Ennis and the electoral divison of Ennis Rural situated east of a line drawn as follows: commencing at the point where the Kilrush Road intersects with the boundary of the Ennis Rural electoral divison, thence proceeding in a northerly direction along Kilrush Road to its intersection with Carmody Street, thence proceeding in an easterly direction along Carmody Street to its intersection with O'Connell Street, thence proceeding in a northerly direction along O'Connell Street to its intersection with Francis Street, thence proceeding in an easterly direction along Francis Street to its intersection with Clon Road, thence proceeding in a northerly direction along Clon Road to its intersection with New Road, thence proceeding in a south easterly direction along New Road to its intersection with Gort Road, thence proceeding along Gort Road in a northerly direction to its intersection by the boundary of the Ennis Rural electoral division.	5
	the electoral divisions of Clareabbey, Clooney (in the former Rural District of Tulla), Doora, Quin, Spancelhill.	
Ennis West	Those parts of the town of Ennis and the electoral divison of Ennis Rural not contained in the local electoral area of Ennis East, the electoral divisions of Kilnamona, Kilanniv, Kilraghtis, Templemaley.	4
Ennistimon	The electoral divisions of Abbey, Annagh, Ballagh, Ballyea, Ballyeighter, Ballysteen, Ballyvaskin, Boston, Carran, Castletown, Cloghaun, Cloonanaha, Clooney (in the former Rural District of Ennistimon), Corrofin, Crusheen, Derreen, Drumcreehy, Dysert, Ennistimon, Formoyle, Gleninagh, Glenroe, Kilfenora, Killaspuglonane, Killilagh, Killinaboy, Kilshanny, Kiltoraght, Liscannor, Lisdoonvarna, Lurraga, Magherareagh, Milltown Malbay, Mountelva, Moy, Muckanagh, Noughaval, Oughtmama, Rath, Rathborney, Ruan, Smithstown.	5
Killaloe	The electoral divisions of Ayle, Ballyblood, Ballycannan, Ballyglass, Ballynahinch, Boherglass, Caher, Caherhurley, Cahermurphy (in the former Rural District of Scarriff), Cappaghabaun, Cappavilla, Carrowbaun, Cloghera, Cloontra, Cloonusker, Coolreagh, Corlea, Dangan, Derrynagittagh, Drummaan, Fahymore, Feakle, Glendree, Inishcaltra North, Inishcaltra South, Killaloe, Killanena, Killokennedy, Killuran, Kilseily, Kiltannon, Kiltenanlea, Kyle, Lackareagh, Loughea, Mountshannon, Newgrove, O'Briensbridge, O'Gonnelloe, Rathclooney, Scarriff, Toberbreeda, Tulla.	6

4 [435]

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Kilrush	The town of Kilrush and the electoral divisions of Ballynacally, Cahermurphy (in the former Rural District of Kilrush), Clondagad, Cloonadrum, Clooncoorha, Coolmeen, Cooraclare, Creegh, Doonbeg, Drumellihy, Einagh, Furroor, Glenmore, Kilballyowen, Kilchreest, Kilcher, Kilfearagh, Kilfiddane, Kilkee, Killadysert, Killard, Killimer, Killofin, Killone, Kilmihil, Kilmurry (in the former Rural District of Killadysert), Kilmurry (in the former Rural District of Kilrush), Kilrush Rural, Kinturk, Knock, Knocknaboley, Knocknagore, Liscasey, Lisheen, Moveen, Moyarta, Mullagh, Querrin, Rahona, Rinealon, St. Martin's, Tullig, Tullycreen.	6
Shannon	The electoral divisions of Castlecrine, Clenagh, Cratloe, Drumline, Killeely, Kilkishen, Mountievers, Newmarket, Rossroe, Sixmilebridge, Tomfinlough, Urlan.	6



GIVEN under my Official Seal, 31 October 2008.

JOHN GORMLEY.

Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation).

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of County Clare into local electoral areas and to fix the number of members of Clare County Council to be elected for each such area.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR

Le ceannach díreach ón

OIFIG DHÍOLTA FOILSEACHÁN RIALTAIS, TEACH SUN ALLIANCE, SRÁID THEACH LAIGHEAN, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2, nó tríd an bpost ó

FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, AN RANNÓG POST-TRÁCHTA, AONAD 20 PÁIRC MIONDÍOLA COIS LOCHA, CLÁR CHLAINNE MHUIRIS, CONTAE MHAIGH EO,

(Teil: 01 - 6476834/37 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 nó 094 - 9378964) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN

PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE

To be purchased directly from the

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS SALE OFFICE

SUN ALLIANCE HOUSE, MOLESWORTH STREET, DUBLIN 2,

or by mail order from

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, POSTAL TRADE SECTION, UNIT 20 LAKESIDE RETAIL PARK, CLAREMORRIS, CO. MAYO, (Tel: 01 - 6476834/37 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 or 094 - 9378964) or through any bookseller.

€2.54

