

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

S.I. No. 434 of 2008

COUNTY OF CAVAN LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

(Prn. A8/1710)

COUNTY OF CAVAN LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

The Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 3 and 24 of the Local Government Act 1994 (No. 8 of 1994), hereby orders as follows:

1. This order may be cited as the County of Cavan Local Electoral Areas Order 2008.

2. (1) The County of Cavan shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.

(2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.

(3) The number of members of Cavan County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.

3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division, town or townland shall be construed as referring to such electoral division, town or townland as existing at the date of this Order.

4. The County of Cavan Local Electoral Areas Order 1998 (S.I. No. 408 of 1998) is hereby revoked.

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 7th November, 2008.

[434] 3

SCHEDULE

Name of Local	Description of	Number of
Electoral Area	Local Electoral Area	Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Bailieborough	The electoral divisions of Ashfield, Bailieborough, Canningstown, Carnagarve, Cootehill Rural, Cootehill Urban, Corraneary, Drumanespick, Enniskeen, Killinkere, Kingscourt, Knappagh, Larah North, Larah South, Lisagoan, Rakenny, Shercock, Skeagh, Taghart, Termon, Tullyvin East, Tullyvin West, Waterloo.	7
Ballyjamesduff	The electoral divisions of Ballintemple, Ballyjamesduff, Ballymachugh, Castlerahan, Crossbane, Derrin, Drumlumman, Graddum, Kilbride, Kilcogy, Kilgolagh, Kill, Kilnaleck, Loughdawan, Lurgan, Mullagh, Munterconnaught, Scrabby, Virginia.	6
Belturbet	The electoral divisions of Ardue, Arvagh, Ballyconnell, Ballymagauran, Bawnboy, Belturbet Urban, Benbrack, Bilberry, Bruce Hall, Carn, Castlesaunderson, Corr, Crossdoney, Derrylahan, Derrynananta, Diamond, Doogary, Dowra, Drumcarban, Dunmakeever, Eskey, Grilly, Kilconny, Killashandra, Killinagh, Kinawley, Lissanover, Milltown, Pedara Vohers, Springfield, Swanlinbar, Teebane, Templeport, Tircahan, Tuam, and the townlands of Derryhoo, Feugh, Gartbrattan, Mullaghmeen, Portacloghan, Tawlaght, Tullyanog in the electoral division of Carrafin.	5
Cavan	The town of Cavan and the electoral divisions of Ballyhaise, Bellananagh, Butler's Bridge, Cavan Rural, Clonervy, Crosskeys, Cuttragh, Denn, Drumcarn, Drung, Killykeen, Moynehall, Redhill, Stradone, and the townlands of Aghnaguig, Ardan, Ashgrove, Ballyneary, Corcanadas, Crahard, Derrygoss, Derryleague, Derrylina, Derrynagan, Drumard, Drumcalpin, Drumheel, Drummany (Playdell), Drummany Beg, Drumsillagh, Duck Island, Hackelty, Inishmore (Island), Inishmuck (Island), Killygowan, Rivory, Stroane, Tirliffin, Urney in the electoral division of Carrafin.	7

4 **[434]**



GIVEN under my Official Seal, 31 October 2008.

JOHN GORMLEY, Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government.

[434] 5

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of County Cavan into local electoral areas and to fix the number of members of Cavan County Council to be elected for each such area.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ón OIFIG DHÍOLTA FOILSEACHÁN RIALTAIS, TEACH SUN ALLIANCE, SRÁID THEACH LAIGHEAN, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2, nó tríd an bpost ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, AN RANNÓG POST-TRÁCHTA, AONAD 20 PÁIRC MIONDÍOLA COIS LOCHA, CLÁR CHLAINNE MHUIRIS, CONTAE MHAIGH EO, (Teil: 01 - 6476834/37 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 nó 094 - 9378964) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

> DUBLIN PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE To be purchased directly from the GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS SALE OFFICE SUN ALLIANCE HOUSE, MOLESWORTH STREET, DUBLIN 2, or by mail order from GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, POSTAL TRADE SECTION, UNIT 20 LAKESIDE RETAIL PARK, CLAREMORRIS, CO. MAYO, (Tel: 01 - 6476834/37 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 or 094 - 9378964) or through any bookseller.



€2.54

Wt. (B26367). 285. 11/08. Cahill. Gr. 30-15.