

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 432 of 2008

COUNTY OF FINGAL LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

(Prn. A8/1708)

COUNTY OF FINGAL LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

The Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 3 and 24 of the Local Government Act 1994 (No. 8 of 1994), hereby orders as follows:

1. This order may be cited as the County of Fingal Local Electoral Areas Order 2008.

2. (1) The County of Fingal shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.

(2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.

(3) The number of members of Fingal County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.

3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division or townland shall be construed as referring to such electoral division or townland as existing at the date of this Order.

4. (1) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to a line drawn along any road or laneway shall be construed as a reference to an imaginary line drawn along the centre of such road or laneway.

(2) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to the point at which any road, laneway or boundary intersects or joins any other road, laneway or boundary shall be construed as a reference to the point at which an imaginary line drawn along the centre of such road or laneway or, in the case of a boundary, along such boundary would be intersected or joined by an imaginary line drawn along the centre of the other road or laneway or, in the case of a boundary, along the boundary.

(3) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to a line drawn along a road which consists of a dual carriageway shall be construed as an imaginary line drawn along the central median of such dual carriageway.

5. The County of Fingal Local Electoral Areas Order 1998 (S.I. No. 387 of 1998) is hereby revoked.

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 7th November, 2008.

SCHEDULE

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Balbriggan	The electoral divisions of Balbriggan Rural, Balbriggan Urban, Ballyboghil, Balscadden, Clonmethan, Garristown, Hollywood, Holmpatrick, Lusk, Rush, Skerries.	5
Castleknock	The electoral divisions of Blanchardstown- Abbotstown, Blanchardstown-Coolmine, Blanchardstown-Delwood, Blanchardstown- Roselawn, Castleknock-Knockmaroon, Castleknock-Park.	4
Howth-Malahide	The electoral divisions of Baldoyle, Balgriffin, Howth, Kinsaley, Malahide East, Malahide West, Portmarnock North, Portmarnock South, Sutton,	5
	and that part of the electoral division of Swords-Seatown situated east of a line drawn as follows:	
	commencing at the junction of the northern boundary of the electoral division with the eastern boundary of the townland of Seatown East, thence in a southerly direction along the eastern boundary of the said townland to its junction with the northern boundary of the townland of Drinan, thence commencing in a westerly direction and proceeding along the northern boundary of the said townland to its intersection by the Swords-Malahide Road, thence in an easterly direction along the Swords-Malahide Road to its junction with an unnamed laneway immediately east of the last-mentioned intersection, thence in a southerly direction along the said laneway and its imaginary southerly projection to its intersection by the southern boundary of the electoral division.	
Mulhuddart	The electoral divisions of Blanchardstown- Blakestown, Blanchardstown-Corduff, Blanchardstown-Mulhuddart, Blanchardstown-Tyrrelstown, Lucan North, The Ward.	5
Swords	The electoral divisions of Airport, Donabate, Dubber, Kilsallaghan, Swords-Forrest, Swords-Glasmore, Swords-Lissenhall, Swords Village, Turnapin,	5
	and that part of the electoral division of Swords-Seatown not contained in the local electoral area of Howth-Malahide.	

4 **[432]**



GIVEN under my Official Seal, 31 October 2008.

JOHN GORMLEY, Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government.

[432] 5

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation).

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of the County of Fingal into local electoral areas and to fix the number of members of Fingal County Council to be elected for each such area. BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ón OIFIG DHÍOLTA FOILSEACHÁN RIALTAIS, TEACH SUN ALLIANCE, SRÁID THEACH LAIGHEAN, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2, nó tríd an bpost ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, AN RANNÓG POST-TRÁCHTA, AONAD 20 PÁIRC MIONDÍOLA COIS LOCHA, CLÁR CHLAINNE MHUIRIS, CONTAE MHAIGH EO, (Teil: 01 - 6476834/37 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 nó 094 - 9378964) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

> DUBLIN PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE To be purchased directly from the GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS SALE OFFICE SUN ALLIANCE HOUSE, MOLESWORTH STREET, DUBLIN 2, or by mail order from GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, POSTAL TRADE SECTION, UNIT 20 LAKESIDE RETAIL PARK, CLAREMORRIS, CO. MAYO, (Tel: 01 - 6476834/37 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 or 094 - 9378964) or through any bookseller.



€2.54

Wt. (B26391). 285. 11/08. Cahill. Gr. 30-15.