

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 431 of 2008

CITY OF WATERFORD LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

S.I. No. 431 of 2008

CITY OF WATERFORD LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

The Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 3 and 24 of the Local Government Act 1994 (No. 8 of 1994), hereby orders as follows:

- 1. This order may be cited as the City of Waterford Local Electoral Areas Order 2008.
- 2. (1) The City of Waterford shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of Waterford City Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as a reference to such area as described in the Waterford County Borough (Wards) Regulations 1983 (S.I. No. 28 of 1983) and therein referred to as a ward.
- 4. The Waterford County Borough Local Electoral Areas Order 1998 (S.I. No. 342 of 1998) is hereby revoked.

SCHEDULE

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Waterford City East	The electoral divisions of Ballymaclode, Ballynakill, Farranshoneen, Grange North, Grange South, Grange Upper, Newtown, Park, Poleberry.	6
Waterford City North	The electoral divisions of Ballybricken, Bilberry, Centre A, Centre B, Cleaboy, Custom House A, Custom House B, Ferrybank, Gracedieu, Military Road, Morrison's Avenue East, Morrison's Avenue West, Morrison's Road, Mount Sion, Newport's Square, Shortcourse, Slievekeale, The Glen.	4
Waterford City South	The electoral divisions of Ballybeg North, Ballybeg South, Ballynaneashagh, Ballytruckle, Kilbarry, Kingsmeadow, Larchville, Lisduggan, Roanmore, Ticor North, Ticor South.	5



GIVEN under my Official Seal, 31 October 2008.

JOHN GORMLEY,

Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation).

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of the City of Waterford into local electoral areas and to fix the number of members of Waterford City Council to be elected for each such area.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR

Le ceannach díreach ón

OIFIG DHÍOLTA FOILSEACHÁN RIALTAIS, TEACH SUN ALLIANCE, SRÁID THEACH LAIGHEAN, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2, nó tríd an bpost ó

FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, AN RANNÓG POST-TRÁCHTA, AONAD 20 PÁIRC MIONDÍOLA COIS LOCHA, CLÁR CHLAINNE MHUIRIS, CONTAE MHAIGH EO,

(Teil: 01 - 6476834/37 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 nó 094 - 9378964) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN

PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE

To be purchased directly from the

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS SALE OFFICE

SUN ALLIANCE HOUSE, MOLESWORTH STREET, DUBLIN 2,

or by mail order from

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, POSTAL TRADE SECTION, UNIT 20 LAKESIDE RETAIL PARK, CLAREMORRIS, CO. MAYO, (Tel: 01 - 6476834/37 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 or 094 - 9378964) or through any bookseller.

€2.54

