

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

S.I. No. 429 of 2008

CITY OF GALWAY LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

S.I. No. 429 of 2008

CITY OF GALWAY LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

The Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 3 and 24 of the Local Government Act 1994 (No. 8 of 1994), hereby orders as follows:

- 1. This order may be cited as the City of Galway Local Electoral Areas Order 2008.
- 2. (1) The City of Galway shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of Galway City Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as a reference to such area as described in the County Borough of Galway (Wards) Regulations 1986 (S.I. No. 34 of 1986) and therein referred to as a ward.
- 4. The Galway County Borough Local Electoral Areas Order 1998 (S.I. No. 337 of 1998) is hereby revoked.

SCHEDULE

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Galway City Central	The electoral divisions of Dangan, Eyre Square, Newcastle, Nuns Island, Rahoon, Shantalla, Toghroinn San Niocláis.	4
Galway City East	The electoral divisions of Ballybaan, Baile an Bhriotaigh, An Caisleán Gearr, Lough Atalia, Mionlach, Mervue, Murroogh, Renmore, Wellpark.	6
Galway City West	The electoral divisions of Bearna, Claddagh, Cnoc na Cathrach, Rockbarton, Salthill, Taylors Hill.	5



GIVEN under my Official Seal, 31 October 2008.

JOHN GORMLEY.

Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation).

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of the City of Galway into local electoral areas and to fix the number of members of Galway City Council to be elected for each such area.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR

Le ceannach díreach ón OIFIG DHÍOLTA FOILSEACHÁN RIALTAIS, TEACH SUN ALLIANCE, SRÁID THEACH LAIGHEAN, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2, nó tríd an bpost ó

FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, AN RANNÓG POST-TRÁCHTA, AONAD 20 PÁIRC MIONDÍOLA COIS LOCHA, CLÁR CHLAINNE MHUIRIS, CONTAE MHAIGH EO,

(Teil: 01 - 6476834/37 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 nó 094 - 9378964) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN

PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE

To be purchased directly from the GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS SALE OFFICE SUN ALLIANCE HOUSE, MOLESWORTH STREET, DUBLIN 2, or by mail order from

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, POSTAL TRADE SECTION, UNIT 20 LAKESIDE RETAIL PARK, CLAREMORRIS, CO. MAYO, (Tel: 01 - 6476834/37 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 or 094 - 9378964) or through any bookseller.

€1.27

