

# STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

S.I. No. 427 of 2008

CITY OF DUBLIN LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

(Prn. A8/1703)

#### CITY OF DUBLIN LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2008

The Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by sections 3 and 24 of the Local Government Act 1994 (No. 8 of 1994), hereby orders as follows:

1. This order may be cited as the City of Dublin Local Electoral Areas Order 2008.

2. (1) The City of Dublin shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.

(2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.

(3) The number of members of Dublin City Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.

3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as a reference to such area as described in the County Borough of Dublin (Wards) Regulations 1986 (S.I. No. 12 of 1986), as amended by the County Borough of Dublin (Wards) (Amendment) Regulations 1994 (S.I. No. 109 of 1994) and the County Borough of Dublin (Wards) (Amendment) Regulations 1997 (S.I. No. 43 of 1997), and therein referred to as a ward.

4. The County Borough of Dublin Local Electoral Areas Order 1998 (S.I. No. 386 of 1998) is hereby revoked.

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 7th November, 2008.

### SCHEDULE

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Artane-Whitehall	The electoral divisions of Beaumont A, Beaumont B, Beaumont C, Kilmore A, Kilmore B, Kilmore C, Kilmore D, Priorswood A, Priorswood B, Priorswood C, Priorswood D, Priorswood E, Whitehall A, Whitehall B, Whitehall C, Whitehall D.	5
Ballyfermot-Drimnagh	The electoral divisions of Carna, Chapelizod, Cherry Orchard A, Cherry Orchard C, Crumlin A, Crumlin B, Crumlin E, Decies, Drumfinn, Inchicore A, Inchicore B, Kilmainham A, Kylemore.	4
Ballymun-Finglas	The electoral divisions of Ballygall A, Ballygall B, Ballygall C, Ballygall D, Ballymun A, Ballymun B, Ballymun C, Ballymun D, Ballymun E, Ballymun F, Finglas North A, Finglas North B, Finglas North C, Finglas South A, Finglas South B, Finglas South C, Finglas South D.	5
Cabra-Glasnevin	The electoral divisions of Ashtown A, Ashtown B, Botanic A, Botanic B, Botanic C, Cabra East A, Cabra East B, Cabra East C, Cabra West A, Cabra West B, Cabra West C, Cabra West D, Drumcondra South C, and that part of the electoral division of Phoenix Park not contained in the local electoral area of South-West Inner City.	5
Clontarf	The electoral divisions of Beaumont D, Beaumont E, Beaumont F, Clontarf East A, Clontarf East B, Clontarf East C, Clontarf East D, Clontarf East E, Clontarf West A, Clontarf West B, Clontarf West C, Clontarf West D, Clontarf West E, Drumcondra South A, Grace Park.	5
Crumlin-Kimmage	The electoral divisions of Crumlin C, Crumlin D, Crumlin F, Kimmage A, Kimmage B, Kimmage C, Kimmage D, Kimmage E, Terenure A, Terenure B, Terenure C, Terenure D, Walkinstown A, Walkinstown B, Walkinstown C.	4
Donaghmede	The electoral divisions of Ayrfield, Edenmore, Grange A, Grange B, Grange C, Grange D, Grange E, Harmonstown A, Harmonstown B, Raheny-Foxfield, Raheny- Greendale, Raheny-St. Assam.	4
North Inner City	The electoral divisions of Arran Quay A, Arran Quay B, Arran Quay C, Arran Quay D, Arran Quay E, Ballybough A, Ballybough B, Drumcondra South B, Inns Quay A, Inns Quay B, Inns Quay C, Mountjoy A, Mountjoy B, North City, North Dock A, North Dock B, North Dock C, Rotunda A, Rotunda B.	6

## 4 **[427]**

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Pembroke-Rathmines	The electoral divisions of Pembroke East C, Pembroke East D, Pembroke East E, Pembroke West B, Pembroke West C, Rathfarnham, Rathmines East A, Rathmines East B, Rathmines East C, Rathmines East D, Rathmines West A, Rathmines West B, Rathmines West C, Rathmines West D, Rathmines West E, Rathmines West F.	6
South-East Inner City	The electoral divisions of Mansion House A, Mansion House B, Pembroke East A, Pembroke East B, Pembroke West A, Royal Exchange A, Royal Exchange B, St Kevin's, South Dock, Wood Quay A, Wood Quay B.	4
South-West Inner City	The electoral divisions of Kilmainham B, Kilmainham C, Merchants Quay A, Merchants Quay B, Merchants Quay C, Merchants Quay D, Merchants Quay E, Merchants Quay F, Ushers A, Ushers B, Ushers C, Ushers D, Ushers E, Ushers F, and that part of the electoral division of Phoenix Park situated between the northern boundaries of the electoral divisions of Kilmainham B and Ushers A and the southern boundary of the Phoenix Park.	4

L.S.

GIVEN under my Official Seal, 31 October 2008

JOHN GORMLEY.

Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government.

**[427]** 5

### EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation).

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of Dublin City into local electoral areas and to fix the number of members of Dublin City Council to be elected for each such area. BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ón OIFIG DHÍOLTA FOILSEACHÁN RIALTAIS, TEACH SUN ALLIANCE, SRÁID THEACH LAIGHEAN, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2, nó tríd an bpost ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, AN RANNÓG POST-TRÁCHTA, AONAD 20 PÁIRC MIONDÍOLA COIS LOCHA, CLÁR CHLAINNE MHUIRIS, CONTAE MHAIGH EO, (Teil: 01 - 6476834/37 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 nó 094 - 9378964) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

> DUBLIN PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE To be purchased directly from the GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS SALE OFFICE SUN ALLIANCE HOUSE, MOLESWORTH STREET, DUBLIN 2, or by mail order from GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, POSTAL TRADE SECTION, UNIT 20 LAKESIDE RETAIL PARK, CLAREMORRIS, CO. MAYO, (Tel: 01 - 6476834/37 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 or 094 - 9378964) or through any bookseller.



€2.54

Wt. (B26462). 285. 11/08. Cahill. Gr. 30-15.