

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

S.I. No. 240 of 2008

DISTRICT COURT DISTRICTS AND AREAS (AMENDMENT) AND VARIATION OF DAYS AND HOURS (BANAGHER AND BALLINASLOE AND BIRR AND EYRECOURT) ORDER, 2008

S.I. No. 240 of 2008

DISTRICT COURT DISTRICTS AND AREAS (AMENDMENT) AND VARIATION OF DAYS AND HOURS (BANAGHER AND BALLINASLOE AND BIRR AND EYRECOURT) ORDER, 2008

The Courts Service, in exercise of the powers conferred on it by section 26 of the Courts of Justice Act, 1953 (No. 32 of 1953), as amended by section 43 of the Courts (Supplemental Provisions) Act, 1961 (No. 39 of 1961), section 16 of the Courts Act, 1971 (No. 36 of 1971) and section 29 of the Courts Service Act, 1998 (No. 8 of 1998) and after consultation with the President of the District Court, hereby orders as follows:

- 1. (a) This Order may be cited as the District Court Districts and Areas (Amendment) and Variation of Days and Hours (Banagher and Ballinasloe and Birr and Eyrecourt) Order, 2008.
 - (b) This Order shall come into operation on 3rd July, 2008.
- 2. The First Schedule to the District Court (Areas) Order, 1961 (S.I. No. 5 of 1961), is hereby amended by—
 - (a) The deletion at reference 201 of the matter in columns (2), (3), (4) and (5)
 - (b) The deletion at reference 87 of the matter in columns (2), (3), (4) and (5)
 - (c) The substitution at reference 202 for the matter in column's (4) and (5) of the following:

"Birr — Second Friday in every month at 10.30 a.m. Fourth Friday in February, April, June, October and December at 10.30 a.m.

The area comprising—
(a) the District Electoral Divisions of Ballincor, Banagher, Birr Rural, Birr Urban, Dromoyle, Eglish, Kilcolman, Killyon, Kinnitty, Knockbarron, Letter, Lusmagh, Mounterin, Seirkieran, Shannon Harbour and Tulla in the county of Offaly, and

(b) the District Electoral Divisions of Carrig, Clohaskin, Graigue, Lorrha East, Rathcabban, Redwood and Riverstown in the county of Tipperary (North Riding)."

and

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 8th July, 2008.

(d) The substitution at reference 81 for the matter in columns (4) and (5) of the following:

"Ballinasloe—First and Third Wednesday, First Thursday and Fourth Tuesday in every month at 10.30 a.m.

The area comprising— (a) the Electoral Divisions of Abbeygormacan, Ahascragh, Annagh, Aughrim (Ballinasloe), Ballinasloe Rural, Ballinasloe Urban, Ballymacward, Ballynakill (Mount Bellew), Caltra, Cappalusk, Castleblakeney, Castleffrench, Clonbrock, Clonfert, Clonkeen (Mount Bellew), Clontuskert, Colmanstown, Cooloo, Derrew, Derryglassaun, Eyrecourt, Kellysgrove, Kilconnell, Killallaghtan, Killian, Killeroran, Killoran, Killure, Kilmacshane, Kilquain, Kiltormer, Kylemore, Laurencetown, Lismanny, Meelick, Mount Bellew, Mounthazel, Oatfield and Taghboy in the county of Galway, and

(b) the Electoral Divisions of Ballydangan, Caltragh, Carrowreagh, Cloonburren, Creagh, Culliagh, Dysart, Kilcar, Lismaha, Moore, Taghboy, Taghmaconnell and Turrock in the county of Roscommon."

- 3. The Second Schedule to the District Court (Areas) Order, 1961 (S.I. No. 5 of 1961), is hereby amended by—
 - (a) The deletion at reference 171 of the matter in columns (2), (3), (4) and (5)
 - (b) The deletion at reference 76 of the matter in columns (2), (3), (4) and (5)
 - (c) The substitution at reference 172 for the matter in column (5) of the following:

" Birr—

Second Friday in every month at 10.30 a.m.

Fourth Friday in February, April, June, October and December at 10.30 a.m.

The area comprising—
(a) the District Electoral Divisions of Ballincor, Banagher, Birr Rural, Birr Urban, Dromoyle, Eglish, Kilcolman, Killyon, Kinnitty, Knockbarron, Letter, Lusmagh, Mounterin, Seirkieran, Shannon Harbour and Tulla in the county of Offaly, and

(b) the District Electoral Divisions of Carrig, Clohaskin, Graigue, Lorrha East, Rathcabban, Redwood and Riverstown in the county of Tipperary (North Riding)."

and

(d) The substitution at reference 71 for the matter in column (5) of the following:

"Ballinasloe— First and Third Wednesday, First Thursday and Fourth Tuesday in every month at 10.30 a.m. The area comprising— (a) the Electoral Divisions of Àbbeygormacan, Ahascragh, Annagh, Aughrim (Ballinasloe), Ballinasloe Rural, Ballinasloe Urban, Ballymacward, Ballynakill (Mount Bellew), Caltra, Cappalusk, Castleblakeney, Castleffrench, Clonbrock, Clonfert, Clonkeen (Mount Bellew), Clontuskert, Colmanstown, Cooloo, Derrew, Derryglassaun, Eyrecourt, Kellysgrove, Kilconnell, Killallaghtan, Killian, Killeroran, Killoran, Killure, Kilmacshane, Kilquain, Kiltormer, Kylemore, Laurencetown, Lismanny, Meelick, Mount Bellew, Mounthazel, Oatfield and Taghboy in the county of Galway,

(b) the Electoral Divisions of Ballydangan, Caltragh, Carrowreagh, Cloonburren, Creagh, Culliagh, Dysart, Kilcar, Lismaha, Moore, Taghboy, Taghmaconnell and Turrock in the county of Roscommon.

- 4. The Schedule to the District Court Areas (Amendment) Order, 1970 (S.I. No. 161 of 1970), is hereby amended at reference number 2 in column (4) by the deletion of "Banagher", "Eyrecourt", "201" and "87".
- 5. Business transacted in the District Court that is initiated and not completed before commencement of this Order shall be continued and completed as if this Order had been in force at the time at which such business had been initiated.



GIVEN under the seal of the Courts Service, 3 July 2008

MIRIAM MALONE

Member of the Board of the Courts Service authorised to sign documents under the Seal of the Courts Service.

MIRIAM O FLANAGAN

Officer of the Courts Service designated for the purpose of authenticating the Seal of the Courts Service, pursuant to section 10 of the Courts Service Act, 1998.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note does not form part of the Instrument and is not a legal interpretation.)

This order provides for—

- (a) the amalgamation of the Electoral Divisions of the District Court Area of Banagher into Birr and Ballinasloe.
- (b) the amalgamation of the Electoral Divisions of the District Court Area of Eyrecourt into Ballinasloe.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR

Le ceannach díreach ón

OIFIG DHÍOLTA FOILSEACHÁN RIALTAIS, TEACH SUN ALLIANCE, SRÁID THEACH LAIGHEAN, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2, nó tríd an bpost ó

FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, AN RANNÓG POST-TRÁCHTA, AONAD 20 PÁIRC MIONDÍOLA COIS LOCHA, CLÁR CHLAINNE MHUIRIS, CONTAE MHAIGH EO,

(Teil: 01 - 6476834/37 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 nó 094 - 9378964) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN

PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE

To be purchased directly from the

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS SALE OFFICE

SUN ALLIANCE HOUSE, MOLESWORTH STREET, DUBLIN 2,

or by mail order from

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, POSTAL TRADE SECTION, UNIT 20 LAKESIDE RETAIL PARK, CLAREMORRIS, CO. MAYO, (Tel: 01 - 6476834/37 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 or 094 - 9378964) or through any bookseller.

€2.54

