

## STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

S.I. No. 223 of 2008

----

DISTRICT COURT DISTRICTS AND AREAS (AMENDMENT) (LOUGHREA AND PORTUMNA) ORDER, 2008

# DISTRICT COURT DISTRICTS AND AREAS (AMENDMENT) (LOUGHREA AND PORTUMNA) ORDER, 2008

The Courts Service, in exercise of the powers conferred on it by section 26 of the Courts of Justice Act, 1953 (No. 32 of 1953), as amended by section 43 of the Courts (Supplemental Provisions) Act, 1961 (No. 39 of 1961), section 16 of the Courts Act, 1971 (No. 36 of 1971) and section 29 of the Courts Service Act, 1998 (No. 8 of 1998) and after consultation with the President of the District Court, hereby orders as follows:

- 1. (a) This Order may be cited as the District Court Districts and Areas (Amendment) (Loughrea and Portumna) Order, 2008.
  - (b) This Order shall come into operation on 1st July, 2008.
- 2. The First Schedule to the District Court (Areas) Order, 1961 (S.I. No. 5 of 1961), is hereby amended by—
  - (a) The deletion at reference 99 of the matter in columns (2), (3), (4) and (5)
  - (b) The substitution at reference 95 for the matter in column (5) of the following:

"The area comprising—

(a) the District Electoral Divisions of Abbeyville, Aille, Ballyglass, Ballynagar, Bracklagh, Bullaun, Coos, Drumkeary, Drummin, Grange, Kilchreest, Kilconickny, Kilconierin, Killaan, Killimor (Portumna), Killogilleen, Kilmalinoge, Kilmeen, Kilreekill, Kilteskill, Lackalea, Leitrim, Loughatorick, Loughrea Rural, Loughrea Urban, Marblehill, Moat, Mountain, Pallas, Portumna, Raford, Tiranascragh, Tynagh and Woodford in the county of Galway,

and

- (b) the District Electoral Division of Lorrha West in the county of Tipperary (North Riding)."
- 3. The Second Schedule to the District Court (Areas) Order, 1961 (S.I. No. 5 of 1961), is hereby amended by—
  - (a) The deletion at reference 87 of the matter in columns (2), (3), (4) and (5)

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 4th July, 2008.

(b) The substitution at reference 83 for the matter in column (5) of the following:

"The area comprising—

(a) the District Electoral Divisions of Abbeyville, Aille, Ballyglass, Ballynagar, Bracklagh, Bullaun, Coos, Drumkeary, Drummin, Grange, Kilchreest, Kilconickny, Kilconierin, Killaan, Killimor (Portumna), Killogilleen, Kilmalinoge, Kilmeen, Kilreekill, Kilteskill, Lackalea, Leitrim, Loughatorick, Loughrea Rural, Loughrea Urban, Marblehill, Moat, Mountain, Pallas, Portumna, Raford, Tiranascragh, Tynagh and Woodford in the county of Galway,

and

- (b) the District Electoral Division of Lorrha West in the county of Tipperary (North Riding)."
- 4. The Schedule to the District Court Areas (Amendment) Order, 1970 (S.I. No. 161 of 1970), is hereby amended at reference number 2 in column (4) by the deletion of "Portumna", "99".
- 5. Business transacted in the District Court that is initiated and not completed before commencement of this Order shall be continued and completed as if this Order had been in force at the time at which such business had been initiated.

GIVEN under the seal of the Courts Service, 30 June 2008

#### MIRIAM MALONE.

Member of the Board of the Courts Service authorised to sign documents under the Seal of the Courts Service.

#### MIRIAM O FLANAGAN.

Officer of the Courts Service designated for the purpose of authenticating the Seal of the Courts Service, pursuant to section 10 of the Courts Service Act, 1998. Dated:

#### EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

This order provides for—

(a) the amalgamation of the Electoral Divisions of the District Court Area of Portumna into Loughrea.

### BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR

Le ceannach díreach ón

OIFIG DHÍOLTA FOILSEACHÁN RIALTAIS, TEACH SUN ALLIANCE, SRÁID THEACH LAIGHEAN, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2, nó tríd an bpost ó

FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, AN RANNÓG POST-TRÁCHTA, AONAD 20 PÁIRC MIONDÍOLA COIS LOCHA, CLÁR CHLAINNE MHUIRIS, CONTAE MHAIGH EO,

(Teil: 01 - 6476834/37 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 nó 094 - 9378964) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

## DUBLIN

PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE

To be purchased directly from the

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS SALE OFFICE

SUN ALLIANCE HOUSE, MOLESWORTH STREET, DUBLIN 2,

or by mail order from

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, POSTAL TRADE SECTION, UNIT 20 LAKESIDE RETAIL PARK, CLAREMORRIS, CO. MAYO, (Tel: 01 - 6476834/37 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843 or 094 - 9378964) or through any bookseller.

€2.54

