

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 624 of 2018

CITY AND COUNTY OF LIMERICK LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2018

CITY AND COUNTY OF LIMERICK LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2018

I, JOHN PAUL PHELAN, Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 23 of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001) and having regard to section 28(1)(d) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014) and the Housing, Planning and Local Government (Delegation of Ministerial Functions) Order 2017 (S.I. No. 473 of 2017), hereby order as follows:

1. This Order may be cited as the City and County of Limerick Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2018.

2. (1) The City and County of Limerick shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.

(2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.

(3) The number of members of Limerick City and County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.

3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as referring to such electoral division as existing at the date of this Order and every reference to a former rural district shall be construed as a reference to that district as constituted immediately before the 1st day of October 1925.

4. The City and County of Limerick shall have the following municipal districts for the purposes of section 22A (inserted by the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014)) of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001):

- (*a*) The Metropolitan District of Limerick City comprising Limerick City East Local Electoral Area, Limerick City North Local Electoral Area and Limerick City West Local Electoral Area;
- (b) The Municipal District of Adare Rathkeale consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Adare Rathkeale;
- (c) The Municipal District of Cappamore Kilmallock consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Cappamore Kilmallock;

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 11th January, 2019. (d) The Municipal District of Newcastle West consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Newcastle West.

5. The City and County of Limerick Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2014 (S.I. No. 56 of 2014) is revoked.

Schedule

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Adare — Rathkeale	The electoral divisions of Abbeyville, Adare North, Adare South, Askeaton East, Askeaton West, Aughin- ish, Ballingarry, Ballyallinan, Ballybricken, Ballygren- nan, Ballynabanoge, Ballynacarriga, Castletown (in the former Rural District of Rathkeale), Coolrus, Craggs, Crecora, Croagh, Croom, Dromard, Dunmoylan East, Dunmoylan West, Dunnaman, Fedamore, Fleanmore, Garrane, Iveruss, Kilcornan, Kildimo, Kilfinny, Kilpea- con, Kilscannell, Lismakeery, Loghill, Mohernagh, Nantinan, Pallaskenry, Rathkeale Rural, Rathkeale Urban, Rathmore, Riddlestown, Shanagolden and Shanid.	6
Cappamore — Kilmallock	The electoral divisions of Abington, Anglesborough, Ardpatrick, Athlacca, Ballylanders, Ballymacshane- boy, Bilboa, Bruff, Bruree, Bulgaden, Caherconlish East, Caherconlish West, Cahercorney, Caherelly, Cappamore, Clonkeen, Colmanswell, Crean, Cullane, Darragh, Doon South, Doon West, Dromin, Duntryle- ague, Emlygrennan, Galbally, Glenbrohane, Glenstal, Grange, Grean, Griston, Hospital, Kilbeheny, Kilfin- nane, Kilflyn, Kilglass, Kilmallock, Kilmurry, Kilteely, Knockainy, Knocklong, Knocknascrow, Oola, Par- ticles, Riversdale, Rockhill, Templebredon, Tobernea and Uregare.	7
Limerick City East	The electoral divisions of Ballysimon, Ballyvarra, Castleconnell, Limerick South Rural, Roxborough; and the electoral divisions of Galvone A, Galvone B, Glentworth A, Glentworth B, Glentworth C, Rathbane, Singland B and St. Laurence as specified in the County Borough of Limerick (Wards) Regulations 1970 (S.I. No. 279 of 1970).	7
Limerick City North	The electoral division of Limerick North Rural; and the electoral divisions of Abbey A, Abbey B, Abbey C, Abbey D, Ballynanty, Castle A, Castle B, Castle C, Castle D, Coolraine, Farranshone, John's A, John's B, John's C, Killeely A, Killeely B, Market, and Singland A as specified in the County Borough of Limerick (Wards) Regulations 1970 (S.I. No. 279 of 1970).	7
Limerick City West	The electoral divisions of Ballycummin, Carrig, Clar- ina, Patrickswell; and the electoral divisions of Ballinacurra A, Ballinac- urra B, Custom House, Dock A, Dock B, Dock C, Dock D, Prospect A, Prospect B, Shannon A and Shannon B as specified in the County Borough of Limerick (Wards) Regulations 1970 (S.I. No. 279 of 1970).	7
Newcastle West	The electoral divisions of Abbeyfeale, Ardagh, Ballin- tober, Ballyagran, Ballynoe, Ballynoe West, Boola, Broadford, Caher, Castletown (in the former Rural Dis- trict of Croom), Cleanglass, Cloncagh, Danganbeg, Dromcolliher, Dromtrasna, Feenagh, Garryduff, Glena- gower, Glengort, Glensharrold, Glin, Kilfergus, Kil- meedy, Kilmoylan, Knockaderry, Mahoonagh, Mona- gay, Mountcollins, Mountplummer, Newcastle Rural, Newcastle Urban, Port, Rathronan, Rooskagh and Templeglentan.	6

[624] 5

GIVEN under my Hand, 19 December 2018.

JOHN PAUL PHELAN, Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government.

6 **[624]**

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of Limerick City and County into local electoral areas, to fix the number of members of Limerick City and County Council to be elected for each such area and to determine the municipal districts for the City and County of Limerick.

> BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE To be purchased from GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, 52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2. (Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) or through any bookseller.



€2.54

Wt. (B33933). 285. 1/19. Essentra. Gr 30-15.