Irish Sign Language Act 2017


1. In this Act—

“Irish Sign Language” means the sign language used by the majority of the deaf community in the State;

“Minister” means the Minister for Justice and Equality;

“prescribed” means prescribed by regulations made by the Minister;

“public body” means:

(a) a Department of State (other than, in relation to the Department of Defence, the Defence Forces) for which a Minister of the Government is responsible;

(b) a local authority within the meaning of the Local Government Act 2001 ;

(c) the Health Service Executive;

(d) a university or institute of technology;

(e) an education and training board established under section 9 of the Education and Training Boards Act 2013 ;

(f) any other person, body or organisation established—

(i) by or under an enactment (other than the Companies Act 2014 ) or charter,

(ii) by any scheme administered by a Minister of the Government, or

(iii) under the Companies Act 2014 in pursuance of powers conferred by or under another enactment, and financed wholly or partly by means of money provided, or loans made or guaranteed, by a Minister of the Government or the issue of shares held by or on behalf of a Minister of the Government;

(g) a company (within the meaning of the Companies Act 2014 ) a majority of the shares in which are held by or on behalf of a Minister of the Government;

(h) any other person, body, organisation or group prescribed under section 6 (5).