S.I. No. 40/2011 - General Government Secured Borrowings Order 2011.

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in

“Iris Oifigiúil” of 1st February, 2011.

I, BRIAN LENIHAN, Minister for Finance, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 67 (5) of the Credit Institutions (Stabilisation) Act 2010 (No. 36 of 2010), hereby makes the following order:

1. (1) This Order may be cited as the General Government Secured Borrowings Order 2011.

(2) This Order comes into operation on 28 January 2011.

2. The bodies listed in the schedule are prescribed for the purposes of Section 67 of the Credit Institutions (Stabilisation) Act 2010 (No. 36 of 2010).


GIVEN under the Official Seal of the Minister of Finance,

27 January 2011.


Minister for Finance.


(a) Central Government

(i) Departments of State

Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food

Department of Communications, Energy and Natural Resources

Department of Community, Equality and Gaeltacht Affairs

Department of Defence

Department of Education and Skills

Department of Enterprise, Trade and Innovation

Department of the Environment, Heritage and Local Government

Department of Finance

Department of Foreign Affairs

Department of Health and Children

Department of Justice, Equality and Law Reform

Department of Social Protection

Department of the Taoiseach

Department of Tourism, Culture and Sport

Department of Transport

(ii) Additional Votes

The President’s Establishment

Office of the Attorney General

Central Statistics Office

Office of the Comptroller and Auditor General

Office of the Appeals Commissioners (for the purposes of the Income Tax Acts)

Office of the Revenue Commissioners (Taxation and Customs)

Office of Public Works

State Laboratory

Secret Service

Chief State Solicitor’s Office (a component part of the Office of the Attorney General)

Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions

Valuation Office

Public Appointments Service

Office of the Commission for Public Service Appointments

Office of the Ombudsman

National Gallery

Garda Síochána (National Police Service)

Irish Prison Service

Courts Service

Property Registration Authority

Commissioners of Charitable Donations and Bequests for Ireland

International Co-operation (Official Development Assistance, accounted for by the Office of the Minister for Foreign Affairs)

Health Services Executive

Army Pensions

Superannuation and Retired Allowances

Office of the Minister for Children (separate Vote but accounted for by the Office of the Minister for Health and Children)

(b) Other Non-market Agencies included in Central Government Sector

(i) General

An Bord Pleanála


Development Cooperation Ireland

Bord Bia

Failte Ireland

Bord Iascaigh Mhara

Inland Fisheries Ireland

Data Protection Commissioner

Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies

Enterprise Ireland

Environmental Protection Agency

Equality Authority


Food Safety Authority of Ireland


Garda Síochána Compliants Board

Grangegorman Development Agency

Health and Safety Authority

Higher Education Authority

Horse Racing Ireland

Housing Finance Agency

IDA Ireland

Irish Film Board

Irish Rail

Irish Sports Council

Irish Water Safety

Labour Relations Commission

Law Reform Commission

Legal Aid Board

Marine Institute

National Development Finance Agency (NDFA)

National Oil Reserve Agency

National Roads Authority

National Standards Authority of Ireland

National Treasury Management Agency (NTMA)

National Economic and Social Development Organisation

National Sports Campus Development Authority

Private Residential Tenancies Board

Radiological Protection Institute of Ireland

Railway Procurement Agency (RPA)

Sea Fisheries Protection Authority


Teaching Council

The Arts Council (Comhairle)

Udaras Na Gaeltachta

National Disability Authority

Medical Bureau of Road Safety

Ulysses Securitisation plc


Voluntary Hospitals

Western Development Commission

(ii) Institutes of Technology and other similar institutions

Athlone Institute of Technology

Institute of Technology Blanchardstown

Institute of Technology Carlow

Cork Institute of Technology

Dundalk Institute of Technology

Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology

Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology

Letterkenny Institute of Technology

Limerick Institute of Technology

Institute of Technology Sligo

Institute of Technology Tallaght

Institute of Technology Tralee

Waterford Institute of Technology

Dublin Institute of Technology

Tipperary Rural and Business Development Institute

Tourism College, Killybegs

(iii) Vocational Education Committees (VECs)

VEC Dun Laoghaire

VEC City of Cork

VEC City of Dublin

VEC City of Galway

VEC City of Limerick

VEC City of Waterford

VEC County of Carlow

VEC County of Cavan

VEC County of Clare

VEC County of Cork

VEC County of Donegal

VEC County of Dublin

VEC County of Galway

VEC County of Kerry (Kerry Education Service)

VEC County of Kildare

VEC County of Kilkenny

VEC County of Laois

VEC County of Leitrim

VEC County of Limerick

VEC County of Longford

VEC County of Louth

VEC County of Mayo

VEC County of Meath

VEC County of Monaghan

VEC County of Offaly

VEC County of Roscommon

VEC County of Sligo

VEC County of Tipperary North

VEC County of Tipperary South

VEC County of Waterford

VEC County of Westmeath

VEC County of Wexford

VEC County of Wicklow

(c) Extra Budgetary Funds included in Central Government Sector

Adult Education Organisations Fund

Bank Guarantee Scheme Fund

Bilateral and Other Aid Fund

Capital Service Redemption Account (CSRA)

Ciste Na Gaeilge

Carbon Fund

Department Of Education Scholarship Fund

Dormant Accounts Fund

Fishery Harbour Centres Fund

Food Aid Convention Fund — Food Aid Donations

Fund For Cultural, Scientific Etc. Organisations

Fund for Orgs Promoting Ireland as An Educational Centre

Garda Siochana Reward Fund

Horse and Greyhound Racing Fund

Intestate Estates Fund Deposit Account

Local Authority Library and Archive Service

Local Government (Equalisation) Fund

Local Loans Fund

National Lottery Suspense Account

National Pensions Reserve Fund

National Training Fund

Plastic Bag/Ground Fill Levy Fund

Post Office Savings Bank Fund

Programme for Peace And Reconciliation

Provision and Renovation Of Swimming Pools

Rent and Interest Account No. 3

Restricted Licences Conversion Fund

Residential Institutions Redress Scheme

Residential Institutions Education Fund

Scientific and Technological Education (Investment) Fund

Small Savings Reserve Fund (SSRF)

Social Insurance Fund

Special Account for Compensation of Hep C

Sundry Monies Deposit Account

Voluntary Housing Scheme

Western Investment Fund

World Food Program


(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

The purpose of this Order is to prescribe the persons and bodies subject to the provisions of Section 67 of the Credit Institutions (Stabilisation) Act 2010 , which provides that secured borrowing by the prescribed persons and bodies requires the consent of the Minister for Finance.