European Parliament (Irish Constituency Members) Act 2009


1.— In this Act—

“Act of 1979” means European Assembly (Irish Representatives) Act 1979 ;

“Act of 1997” means European Parliament Elections Act 1997 ;

“Act of 2001” means Ministerial, Parliamentary and Judicial Offices and Oireachtas Members (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2001 ;

“Article”, in relation to a numbered Article, means the Article so numbered of the Decision;

“Decision” means Decision of the European Parliament of 28 September 2005 adopting the Statute for Members of the European Parliament (No. 2005/684/EC, Euratom 1 );

“European election ” has the meaning assigned to it by section 7 of the Act of 1997;

“ member ” means a person who is elected under the Act of 1997, or is regarded under that Act as having been so elected, to be a member of the Parliament;

“ Minister ” means Minister for Finance;

“ Parliament ” means European Parliament;

“ parliamentary term ” means a parliamentary term of the Parliament;

“ 2009 European election ” means the European election held in 2009.

1O.J. No. L. 262, 07.10.2005, p.1