Official Languages Act 2003




31.—In this Part, save where the context otherwise requires—

“the Commission” means the body known as An Coimisiún Logainmneacha and established by warrant of the Minister for Finance dated the 24th day of October 1946;

“placename” includes the name of any province, county, city, town, village, barony, parish or townland, or of any territorial feature (whether natural or artificial), district, region or place, as shown in the maps of Ordnance Survey Ireland;

“placenames order” has the meaning assigned to it by section 32 .