Merchant Shipping (Investigation of Marine Casualties) Act, 2000

Composition of Board.

9.—(1) The Board shall consist of—

(a) three persons appointed by the Minister;

(b) the Chief Surveyor; and

(c) the Secretary-General of the Department of the Marine and Natural Resources, or his or her nominee.

(2) The Minister shall appoint one of the persons appointed under subsection (1)(a) to be the Chairperson of the Board and another to be its Deputy Chairperson to perform the duties of the Chairperson during any vacancy in the office of the Chairperson or where the Chairperson is absent from, or for any reason is unable to perform the duties of, his or her office.