Health (Eastern Regional Health Authority) Act, 1999


Area Health Boards

Establishment of Area Health Boards.

14.—(1) On the establishment day, there shall stand established 3 boards, which shall be known, respectively, as—

(a) the Northern Area Health Board,

(b) the East Coast Area Health Board, and

(c) the South-Western Area Health Board,

and referred to collectively in this Act as “the Area Health Boards”.

(2) Each Area Health Board shall be a body corporate with the power to sue and be sued in its own name and may acquire, hold and dispose of land and other property.

Each Area Health Board shall provide itself with a seal and all courts of justice shall take judicial notice of the seal.

(4) The functional area of each Area Health Board shall be as described in the First Schedule.