Heritage Act, 1995


Functions of Commissioners in Relation to National Heritage

Functions of Commissioners of Public Works in Ireland.

24.—The functions of the Commissioners in relation to the national heritage under the enactments set out in the Table to this section shall, notwithstanding anything to the contrary in the Ministers and Secretaries Act, 1924 , be performed subject to the supervision of the Minister and to such directions as the Minister may give in relation thereto and the Commissioners shall provide the Minister with such information as the Minister may require for those purposes.


The Act of the British Parliament 2 & 3 Vict., c. 61 (“the Shannon Act”)

Saint Stephen's Green (Dublin) Act, 1877

Phoenix Park Act, 1925

National Monuments Act, 1930

Bourn Vincent Memorial Park Act, 1932

Whale Fisheries Act, 1937

National Monuments (Amendment) Act, 1954

Holycross Abbey (County Tipperary) Act, 1969

Wildlife Act, 1976

Canals Act, 1986

National Monuments (Amendment) Act, 1987

Shannon Navigation Act, 1990

National Monuments (Amendment) Act, 1994 .