Courts and Court Officers Act, 1995

Number of judges of Supreme Court.

6.—(1) Section 1 of the Courts (Establishment and Constitution) Act, 1961 , is hereby amended by the substitution of the following subsection for subsection (2):

“(2) The Supreme Court shall be constituted of the following judges—

(a) the president thereof, namely, An Príomh-Bhreitheamh (The Chief Justice), and

(b) not more than seven ordinary judges (each of whom shall be styled ‘Breitheamh den Chúirt Uachtarach’ (‘Judge of the Supreme Court’)).”.

(2) Section 14 (1) (a) (i) of the Law Reform Commission Act, 1975 , shall be construed as if “eight” were substituted for “five” in that section.