Local Government Act, 1994

Chairperson and members.

54.—(1) The Commission shall consist of not more than seven members one of whom shall be the chairperson.

(2) The chairperson shall be appointed by the Minister.

(3) The members shall be appointed by the Minister and shall include—

(a) a member of a county council,

(b) a member of a local authority other than a county council or a county borough council,

(c) a county manager,

(d) a person having knowledge or experience of local authority staffing matters,

(e) a person having knowledge or experience in the field of business, commerce or administration,

(f) an officer of the Minister.

(4) A person who is for the time being entitled under the Standing Orders of either House of the Oireachtas to sit therein, or who is a member of the European Parliament, shall, while such person is so entitled or is such a member, be disqualified for becoming or being a member of the Commission.

(5) Nothing in this section shall affect the appointment of a person to fill a casual vacancy pursuant to article 2 of the Fifth Schedule .