Local Government Act, 1991


Reorganisation of Local Government for the County of Dublin

Interpretation ( Part IV ).

17.—(1) In this Part, except where the context otherwise requires—

“area committee” means a committee established pursuant to section 18 ;

“area manager”, during the period when functions stand delegated under section 20 to assistant county managers for the county of Dublin, means one of those assistant county managers and, when functions stand delegated under section 21 to persons holding the offices established by that section, means one of the holders of those offices;

“assistant county manager” means an assistant county manager for the purposes of the County Management Acts, 1940 to 1988;

“the borough” means the borough of Dún Laoghaire;

“the Borough Corporation” means the Corporation of Dún Laoghaire;

“committee district” has the meaning assigned to it by section 18 ;

“the county” means the administrative county of Dublin;

“the county council” means the council of the county;

“the Dublin authorities” means Dublin Corporation, the Borough Corporation, the county council, the Dean's Grange Joint Burial Board and the Balbriggan Town Commissioners;

“Dublin Corporation” means the Right Honourable, the Lord Mayor, Aldermen and Burgesses of Dublin;

“electoral county” means an established electoral county within the meaning of Part III of the Local Government (Reorganisation) Act, 1985 ;

“the existing authorities” means the county council and the Borough Corporation;

“the proposed counties” and “the proposed councils” have the meanings assigned to them by section 23 ;

“the reorganisation report” means the report prepared under section 23 .

(2) Nothing in this Part shall prejudice the power of the Minister under Part V to make an order altering the boundaries of a committee district or providing for consequential matters.