Fire Services Act, 1981


Organisation of Fire Services

Fire authorities.

9.—(1) Each of the following local authorities shall be a fire authority for the purposes of this Act—

(a) the council of a county,

(b) the corporation of a county borough,

(c) the Corporation of Dun Laoghaire,

(d) subject to subsection (2), the corporation of any other borough and the council of any urban district which has established and is maintaining a fire brigade at the commencement of this section.

(2) Where the Minister by order provides that subsection (1) (d) shall cease to apply to a particular corporation or council that body shall cease to be a fire authority on the day specified in that behalf in the order.

(3) The functional area of a fire authority shall be—

(a) in the case of the council of a county, the administrative county, excluding any borough or urban district, the corporation or council of which is for the time being a fire authority;

(b) in the case of any other local authority, its administrative area.

(4) References in any enactment to a fire brigade authority, as defined in the Fire Brigades Act, 1940 , shall be construed as references to a fire authority.