National Monuments (Amendment) Act, 1954

Constitution of the Advisory Council.

15.—(1) The Advisory Council shall, on and after such date as the Minister may by order appoint, consist of—

(a) an officer of the Department of Education, nominated for the purpose by the Minister for Education, and an officer of the Commissioners, nominated for the purpose by the Minister, and

(b) such number of other persons (including representatives of the following bodies, namely, the Royal Irish Academy, the Royal Society of Antiquaries of Ireland and the Royal Institute of the Architects of Ireland) as the Minister nominates to be members thereof.

(2) The Advisory Council shall be reconstituted after the expiration of every five years.

(3) Every member of the Advisory Council shall be eligible for re-nomination.

(4) If a member of the Advisory Council nominated under paragraph (a) of subsection (1) of this section is, for any reason, temporarily unable to act a person may be nominated, in like manner, to act in his stead.

(5) Subsections (2) and (3) of section 21 of the Principal Act are hereby repealed on and from the date appointed by the Minister under subsection (1) of this section.