Local Government Act, 1941

Constitution and election of certain urban authorities.

34.—(1) In this section the word “borough” does not include a county borough or the borough of Dun Laoghaire or the borough of Galway.

(2) Before the elections held next after the commencement of this section of members of councils of boroughs, councils of urban districts, and commissioners of towns, the Minister shall by order fix the total number of the members of every such council or commissioners and, on and after the fifth day after the day which is fixed for the holding of the said elections, and for the purposes of the said elections, the number of such members shall be the number so fixed.

(3) Subject to the provisions of the next following section, at every election of the members of any council of a borough, council of an urban district, or commissioners of a town there shall be one electoral area which shall consist of such borough, urban district, or town (as the case may be), and all such members shall be elected for such electoral area.

(4) Subject to the provisions of the next following section, there shall be four aldermen for every borough.

(5) Nothing in this section shall be construed as preventing or restricting any alteration under Article 26 of the Schedule to the Local Government (Application of Enactments) Order, 1898, of the number of members of the council of any urban district or borough.