Local Authorities (Combined Purchasing) Act, 1925

Local Supplies Advisory Committee.

9.—(1) For the purpose of advising and assisting the Minister in the performance of his duties under this Act there shall be established an advisory committee (in this section referred to as the committee) which shall be styled the Local Supplies Advisory Committee and shall consist of five persons to be appointed by the Minister from time to time as occasion requires, of whom—

(a) two persons shall be elected members of county or county borough councils in Saorstát Eireann, and

(b) two persons shall be elected members of urban district councils or commissioners of towns in Saorstát Eireann, and

(c) one person shall be representative of commerce in Saorstát Eireann.

(2) The Minister shall before appointing a member of the committee, consult with any association for the time being representative of county or county borough councils, urban district councils, town commissioners, or of commerce as the case may require.

(3) The several members of the committee shall, unless they previously die or resign, respectively retain their membership for such period from their appointment as the Minister shall prescribe, but shall be eligible for re-appointment.

(4) Three members of the committee shall be a quorum and the members of the committee shall at every meeting elect from amongst their number the chairman for that meeting and such chairman shall have a second or casting vote.

(5) The committee shall have a secretary who shall be nominated by the Minister.

(6) The committee shall meet whenever summoned by the Minister and also on such other occasions as the committee may from time to time determine.

(7) The committee shall consider and advise the Minister on all matters which shall be referred to it by the Minister and the committee may also at its discretion consider and if it thinks fit report to the Minister on any other matter relating to or affecting the supply of commodities to local authorities under this Act.

(8) Payments may be made by the Minister to members of the committee, to such extent as may be sanctioned by the Minister for Finance, in respect of repayment of travelling expenses and payment of subsistence allowance.