The Courts of Justice Act, 1924

Constitution of Supreme Court.

5.—A Supreme Court of Justice (Cúirt Bhreithiúnais Uachtarach) shall be constituted under this Act to be the Supreme Court of the Irish Free State (An Chúirt Uachtarach) referred to in the Constitution and shall consist of three judges of whom the president (who is hereinafter called “the Chief Justice”) shall be styled in his appointment “Chief Justice of the Irish Free State” or “Prímh-Bhreitheamh Shaorstát Eireann,” and each of the other judges “Judge (Breitheamh) of the Supreme Court of Justice of Saorstát Eireann.”