

## STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 227 of 2023

OIREACHTAS (ALLOWANCES) (MEMBERS AND HOLDERS OF PARLIAMENTARY AND CERTAIN MINISTERIAL OFFICES) (AMENDMENT) ORDER 2023

## S.I. No. 227 of 2023

## OIREACHTAS (ALLOWANCES) (MEMBERS AND HOLDERS OF PARLIAMENTARY AND CERTAIN MINISTERIAL OFFICES) (AMENDMENT) ORDER 2023

The Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on them by sections 3A (inserted by section 40 of the Ministerial, Parliamentary and Judicial Offices and Oireachtas Members (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2001 (No. 33 of 2001) ("Act of 2001") and amended by section 2 of the Ministers and Secretaries and Ministerial, Parliamentary, Judicial and Court Offices (Amendment) Act 2020 (No. 10 of 2020)), 4 and 8 (as amended by section 43 of the Act of 2001) of the Oireachtas (Allowances to Members) and Ministerial, Parliamentary, Judicial and Court Offices (Amendment) Act 1998 (No. 5 of 1998), hereby order as follows:

1. This Order may be cited as the Oireachtas (Allowances) (Members and Holders of Parliamentary and Certain Ministerial Offices) (Amendment) Order 2023.

2. The Oireachtas (Allowances) (Members and Holders of Parliamentary and Certain Ministerial Offices) Order 2020 (S.I. No. 613 of 2020) is amended –

- (a) by the substitution of the following Article for Article 5:
  - "5. There is payable to
    - (a) Hildegarde Naughton, Minister of State at
      - (i) the Department of the Taoiseach, and
      - (ii) the Department of Health,
    - (b) Jack Chambers, Minister of State at
      - (i) the Department of Transport, and
      - (ii) the Department of the Environment, Climate and Communications,
      - and
    - (c) Pippa Hackett, Minister of State at the Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine,

for any period beginning on or after 17 December 2022, as the holders of those offices, respectively, who regularly attend meetings of the Government, an annual allowance at the rate of  $\notin 12,173.$ ",

(b) by the substitution of the following Article for Article 6:

"6. (1) There is payable to a member of the Oireachtas who holds or held the position of chairperson of an Oireachtas

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 9th May, 2023. Committee specified in Schedule 3 an allowance, in respect of the member's duties as holder of that position, annually –

- (a) at the rate of €9,500 in respect of any period beginning on or after 12 May 2020,
- (b) at the rate of €9,595 in respect of any period beginning on or after 1 October 2021,
- (c) at the rate of €9,691 in respect of any period beginning on or after 1 February 2022,
- (d) at the rate of €9,982 in respect of any period beginning on or after 2 February 2022,
- (e) at the rate of €10,082 in respect of any period beginning on or after 1 October 2022, and
- (f) at the rate of €10,284 in respect of any period beginning on or after 1 March 2023,

during which the member held that position.

(2) There is payable to a member of the Oireachtas who holds or held the position of chairperson of the Oireachtas Committee known as the Committee on Members' Interests of Seanad Éireann an allowance, in respect of the member's duties as holder of that position, annually –

- (a) at the rate of €3,100 in respect of any period beginning on or after 12 May 2020,
- (b) at the rate of €3,131 in respect of any period beginning on or after 1 October 2021,
- (c) at the rate of €3,162 in respect of any period beginning on or after 1 February 2022,
- (d) at the rate of €3,257 in respect of any period beginning on or after 2 February 2022,
- (e) at the rate of €3,290 in respect of any period beginning on or after 1 October 2022, and
- (f) at the rate of €3,356 in respect of any period beginning on or after 1 March 2023,

during which the member held that position.

(3) There is payable to a member of the Oireachtas who holds or held the position of chairperson of the Oireachtas Committee known as the Joint Committee on Autism an allowance, in respect of the member's duties as holder of that position, annually –

- (a) at the rate of €9,982 in respect of any period beginning on or after 2 February 2022,
- (b) at the rate of €10,082 in respect of any period beginning on or after 1 October 2022, and

(c) at the rate of €10,284 in respect of any period beginning on or after 1 March 2023,

during which the member held that position.

(4) There is payable to a member of the Oireachtas who held the position of chairperson of the Oireachtas Committee known as the Joint Committee on Gender Equality an allowance, in respect of the member's duties as holder of that position, annually –

- (a) at the rate of €9,595 in respect of any period beginning on or after 1 October 2021,
- (b) at the rate of €9,691 in respect of any period beginning on or after 1 February 2022,
- (c) at the rate of €9,982 in respect of any period beginning on or after 2 February 2022, and
- (d) at the rate of €10,082 in respect of any period beginning on or after 1 October 2022,

during which the member held that position.

(5) There is payable to a member of the Oireachtas who held the position of chairperson of the Oireachtas Committee known as the Joint Committee on International Surrogacy an allowance, in respect of the member's duties as holder of that position, annually at the rate of  $\notin$ 9,982 in respect of any period beginning on or after 2 February 2022, during which the member held that position.",

and

(c) by the substitution of the following Schedule for Schedule 3:

## "SCHEDULE 3

Article 6(1)

Joint Committee on Environment and Climate Action (formerly the Joint Committee on Climate Action)

Joint Committee on Foreign Affairs and Defence

Joint Committee on Social Protection, Community and Rural Development and the Islands

Joint Committee on the Implementation of the Good Friday Agreement

Joint Committee on Agriculture, Food and the Marine (formerly the Joint Committee on Agriculture, and the Marine)

Joint Committee on Justice

Joint Committee on European Union Affairs

Joint Committee on Finance, Public Expenditure and Reform, and Taoiseach

Joint Committee on Children, Equality, Disability, Integration and Youth (formerly the Joint Committee on Children, Disability, Equality and Integration)

Joint Committee on Transport and Communications (formerly the Joint Committee on Transport and Communications Networks)

Joint Committee on Enterprise, Trade and Employment

Joint Committee on Disability Matters

Joint Committee on Tourism, Culture, Arts, Sports and Media (formerly the Joint Committee on Media, Tourism, Arts, Culture, Sport and the Gaeltacht)

Joint Committee on Education, Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science (formerly the Joint Committee on Education, Further Education, Research, Innovation and Science)

Joint Committee on Health

Joint Committee on Housing, Local Government and Heritage

**Committee of Public Accounts** 

Committee on Budgetary Oversight

Committee on Members' Interests of Dáil Éireann

Comhchoiste na Gaeilge, na Gaeltachta and Phobal Labhartha na Gaeilge (Joint Committee on the Irish Language, Gaeltacht and the Irish-speaking Community)

Joint Committee on Public Petitions

British-Irish Parliamentary Assembly (formerly the British-Irish Inter-Parliamentary Body)".

6 **[227]** 



GIVEN under the Official Seal of the Government, 4 May, 2023.

LEO VARADKAR, Taoiseach. BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, BÓTHAR BHAILE UÍ BHEOLÁIN, CILL MHAIGHNEANN, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 8, D08 XAO6

> Teil: 046 942 3100 r-phost: publications@opw.ie

DUBLIN PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE To be purchased from GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, MOUNTSHANNON ROAD, KILMAINHAM, DUBLIN 8, D08 XAO6

> Tel: 046 942 3100 E-mail: publications@opw.ie



€ 3.00

(CSU-81) 75. 4/23. Propylon.

**[227]** 7