

# STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 667 of 2020

\_\_\_\_\_

WILD SALMON AND SEA TROUT TAGGING SCHEME (AMENDMENT) REGULATIONS 2020

#### S.I. No. 667 of 2020

# WILD SALMON AND SEA TROUT TAGGING SCHEME (AMENDMENT) REGULATIONS 2020

- I, EAMON RYAN, Minister for the Environment, Climate and Communications, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 69 of the Inland Fisheries Act 2010 (No. 10 of 2010) (as adapted by the Communications, Climate Action and Environment (Alteration of Name of Department and Title of Minister) Order 2020 (S.I. No. 373 of 2020)), after consultation with Inland Fisheries Ireland, hereby make the following regulations:
- 1. (1) These Regulations may be cited as the Wild Salmon and Sea Trout Tagging Scheme (Amendment) Regulations 2020.
  - (2) These Regulations shall come into operation on 1 January 2021.
- 2. The Wild Salmon and Sea Trout Tagging Scheme Regulations 2018 (S.I. No. 585 of 2018) are amended -
  - (a) by the substitution of the following Schedule for Schedule 2:

#### Schedule 2

### Rivers

#### **Total Allowable Catch**

Fishery District	Waters of the River	Maximum number of tags that may be issued in respect of taking wild salmon or sea trout from river
(1)	(2)	(3)
Dublin	Dargle	0
	Upper Liffey	0
	Lower Liffey (downstream of Leixlip Dam)	0

	Vartry	0
Wexford	Slaney	0
	Avoca	0
	Owenavorragh	0
Waterford	Barrow and Pollmounty	0
	Nore	0
	Suir including Clodiagh, Lingaun, and Waterford Blackwater	0
	Colligan	0
	Corrock	0
	Owenduff	0
	Mahon	0
	Tay	0
Lismore	Blackwater (Munster) including Glenshelane and Finisk	6,420
	Bride	0
	Lickey	0
	Tourig	0
	Womanagh	0
Cork	Owenacurra	0
	Lower Lee	755
	Bandon	568
	Ilen	1,061
	Mealagh	191

	Coomhola	151
	Upper Lee	0
	Glengarriff	332
	Argideen	0
	Owvane	562
	Adrigole	35
Kerry	Roughty	415
	Blackwater (Kerry)	0
	Sneem	695
	Waterville	276
	Caragh	549
	Laune including Cottoners	3,664
	Maine	319
	Castlemaine Harbour	674
	Behy	0
	Emlagh	0
	Owenmore	210
	Croanshagh (Glanmore River and Lake)	254
	Sheen	1,236
	Inny	0
	Kealincha	0
	Lough Fada	0
	Owenshagh	0

	Cloonee	0
	Finnihy	0
	Owenreagh	0
	Emlaghmore	0
	Carhan	0
	Ferta	140
	Owenascaul	0
	Milltown	0
	Feohanagh	0
	Lee	0
Limerick	Feale including Galey and Brick	0
	Mulkear	0
	Maigue	0
	Upper Shannon (Above Parteen)	0
	Lower Shannon	0
	Fergus	0
	Deel	0
	Owenagarney	0
	Doonbeg	0
	Skivaleen	0
	Annageeragh	0
	Inagh	0
	Aughyvackeen	0
Galway	Corrib	4,540

	Aille (Galway)	0
	Kilcolgan	0
	Clarinbridge	0
	Knock	0
	Owenboliska (Spiddal)	0
Connemara	Cashla	97
	Screebe	0
	Ballynahinch	234
	Lough Na Furnace	0
Ballinakill	Erriff	155
	Bundorragha	95
	Common estuary (Killary)	227
	Owenglin (Clifden)	37
	Dawros	589
	Culfin	232
	Carrownisky	0
	Bunowen	0
	Owenwee (Belclare)	0
Bangor	Srahmore (Burrishoole)	0
	Owenduff (Glenamong)	750
	Carrowmore Lake	502
	Owenmore	224

	Common Estuary Owenmore <sup>1</sup>	252
	Newport including Lough Beltra	400
	Glenamoy	129
	Owengarve River	0
	Muingnabo	0
Ballina	Moy	12,908
	Easkey	315
	Cloonaghmore (Palmerstown)	0
	Ballinglen	0
	Brusna	0
	Leaffony	0
Sligo	Ballysadare	2,587
	Drumcliff	138
	Garvogue including. Lough Gill and River Bonet	0
	Grange	0
Ballyshannon	Duff	0
	Drowes	2,362
	Eany	0
	Glen	0

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> In the event that draft net fishing takes place in the Common Estuary Owenmore, the combined total allowable catch of the Owenmore (224) and 1SW Carrowmore (258) is reduced to reflect the higher risk associated with meeting the individual river conservation limits simultaneously. The combined Total Allowable Catch for the 3 fisheries, Owenmore, 1SW Carrowmore and Common Estuary Owenmore must not exceed 252 fish. This figure of 252 is to be divided between angling and commercial licence holders.

	Owenwee (Yellow River)	28
	Erne	0
	Eske	0
	Abbey	0
	Ballintra (Murvagh River)	0
	Laghy	0
	Oily	0
	Bungosteen	0
Letterkenny	Owenea/Owentocker	199
	Gweebarra	316
	Clady	144
	Tullaghobegly	121
	Crana	187
	Gweedore (Crolly River)	118
	Ray	0
	Lackagh	154
	Leannan	0
	Bracky	0
	Owenamarve	0
	Glenna	0
	Swilly	0
	Isle (Burn)	0
	Mill	0
	Clonmany	0

	Straid	0
	Donagh	0
	Glenagannon	0
	Culoort	0
Drogheda	Boyne	0
Dundalk	Castletown	0
	Fane	29
	Glyde	0
	Dee	0
	Flurry	0

And

(b) by the substitution of the following Schedule for Schedule 4:

Schedule 4
Fishery Districts and rivers to which brown tags apply

Fishery District	River	Designated code
Dundalk	Fane	S4
Cork	Lower Lee	F4
Ballinakill	Owenglin	Q4
Ballinakill	Bundorragha	L4
Bangor	Owenmore	D3
Bangor	Carrowmore	G4
Ballyshannon	Owenwee (Yellow)	P3
Letterkenny	Owenea and Owentocker	K4

Letterkenny	Crana	H4
Kerry	Waterville <sup>2</sup>	C3
Bangor	Newport <sup>2</sup>	K3
Letterkenny	Gweebarra <sup>2</sup>	N3
Letterkenny	Lackagh <sup>3</sup>	B4

The Wild Salmon and Sea Trout Tagging Scheme (Amendment) Regulations 2019 (S.I. No. 669 of 2019) are revoked.



GIVEN under my Official Seal, 18 December 2020.

# **EAMON RYAN**

Minister for the Environment, Climate and Communications.

 $<sup>^2</sup>$  Brown tag to 11th May only (brown tag not required from 12th May)  $^3$  Brown tag from 12th May (Closed to 11th May)

## BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2, D02 DR67.

Teil: 076 110 6834 r-post: publications@opw.ie

DUBLIN
PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE
To be purchased from
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS,
52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2,
D02 DR67.

Tel: 076 110 6834 E-mail: publications@opw.ie



€ 3.50

(IFD-4) 75. 12/20. Propylon.