

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 633 of 2018

COUNTY OF SOUTH DUBLIN LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2018

S.I. No. 633 of 2018

COUNTY OF SOUTH DUBLIN LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS ORDER 2018

- I, JOHN PAUL PHELAN, Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 23 of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001) and having regard to section 28(1)(d) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014) and the Housing, Planning and Local Government (Delegation of Ministerial Functions) Order 2017 (S.I. No. 473 of 2017), hereby order as follows:
- 1. This Order may be cited as the County of South Dublin Local Electoral Areas Order 2018.
- 2. (1) The County of South Dublin shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of South Dublin County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as referring to such electoral division as existing at the date of this Order.
- 4. (1) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to a line drawn along a motorway shall be construed as a reference to an imaginary line drawn along the central median of such motorway.
- (2) A reference in the Schedule to this Order to a line drawn along a road, way or railway line shall be construed as a reference to an imaginary line drawn along the centre of such road, way or railway line.
- 5. The County of South Dublin Local Electoral Areas Order 2014 (S.I. No. 65 of 2014) is revoked.

Schedule

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Clondalkin	The electoral divisions of Clondalkin-Dunawley, Clondalkin Village, Newcastle, Rathcoole, Saggart;	7
	that part of the electoral division of Clondalkin-Monastery west of a line drawn along the M50 motorway;	
	and those parts of the electoral divisions of Clondalkin-Cappaghmore and Clondalkin-Moorfield south of a line drawn along the South Western Commuter and Intercity railway line.	
Firhouse — Bohernabreena	The electoral divisions of Bohernabreena, Edmonstown, Firhouse-Ballycullen, Firhouse-Knocklyon and Firhouse Village.	5
Lucan	The electoral divisions of Lucan-St Helens, Lucan Heights;	5
	and that part of the electoral division of Lucan Esker not contained in the local electoral area of Palmerstown-Fonthill.	
Palmerstown — Fonthill	The electoral divisions of Clondalkin-Rowlagh, Palmerston Village, Palmerston West;	5
	those parts of the electoral divisions of Clondalkin-Cappaghmore and Clondalkin-Moorfield not contained in the local electoral area of Clondalkin;	
	and that part of the electoral division of Lucan Esker to the east of a line drawn along the R136 Road.	
Rathfarnham — Templeogue	The electoral divisions of Ballyboden, Rathfarnham-Ballyroan, Rathfarnham-Butterfield, Rathfarnham-Hermitage, Rathfarnham-St. Enda's, Rathfarnham Village, Templeogue-Cypress, Templeogue-Kimmage Manor, Templeogue-Limekiln, Templeogue-Orwell, Templeogue-Osprey, Templeogue Village, Terenure-Cherryfield, Terenure-Greentrees and Terenure-St. James;	7
	those parts of the electoral divisions of Clondalkin-Ballymount, Clondalkin-Monastery and Tallaght-Kilnamanagh east of a line drawn along the M50 motorway.	
Tallaght Central	The electoral divisions of Tallaght-Avonbeg, Tallaght-Belgard, Tallaght-Glenview, Tallaght-Kingswood, Tallaght-Millbrook, Tallaght-Oldbawn, Tallaght-Springfield, Tallaght-Tymon;	6
	those parts of the electoral divisions of Clondalkin-Ballymount and Tallaght-Kilnamanagh not contained in the local electoral area of Rathfarnham-Templeogue;	
	and that part of the electoral division of Tallaght-Kiltipper to the east of a line drawn along Kiltipper Way.	
Tallaght South	The electoral divisions of Ballinascorney, Tallaght-Fettercairn, Tallaght-Jobstown, Tallaght-Killinardan;	5
	and that part of the electoral division of Tallaght-Kiltipper not contained in the local electoral area of Tallaght Central.	

GIVEN under my Hand, 19 December 2018.

JOHN PAUL PHELAN,

Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of South Dublin into local electoral areas and to fix the number of members of South Dublin County Council to be elected for each such area.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN
PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE
To be purchased from
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS,
52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2.
(Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843)
or through any bookseller.

€2.54

