

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 632 of 2018

COUNTY OF SLIGO LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2018

COUNTY OF SLIGO LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2018

- I, JOHN PAUL PHELAN, Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 23 of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001) and having regard to section 28(1)(d) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014) and the Housing, Planning and Local Government (Delegation of Ministerial Functions) Order 2017 (S.I. No. 473 of 2017), hereby order as follows:
- 1. This Order may be cited as the County of Sligo Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2018.
- 2. (1) The County of Sligo shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.
- (2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.
- (3) The number of members of Sligo County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.
- 3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as referring to such electoral division as existing at the date of this Order.
- 4. The County of Sligo shall have the following municipal districts for the purposes of section 22A (inserted by the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014)) of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001):
 - (a) The Borough District of Sligo consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Sligo Strandhill;
 - (b) The Municipal District of Ballymote Tubbercurry consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Ballymote Tubbercurry;
 - (c) The Municipal District of Sligo Drumcliff consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Sligo Drumcliff.
- 5. The County of Sligo Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2014 (S.I. No. 64 of 2014) is revoked.

Schedule

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Ballymote — Tubbercurry	The electoral divisions of Achonry East, Achonry West, Aclare, Aghanagh, Annagh, Aughris, Ballymote, Ballynakill, Ballynashee, Banada, Branchfield, Breencorragh, Bricklieve, Buncrowey, Carrickbanagher, Carrownaskeagh, Cartron, Castleconor East, Castleconor West, Cloonacool, Cloonoghill, Coolaney, Coolavin, Cuilmore, Dromard East, Dromard West, Dromore, Drumcolumb, Drumfin, Drumrat, Easky East, Easky West, Glendarragh, Kilfree, Kilglass, Killadoon, Killaraght, Kilmacteige, Kilmactranny, Kilshalvy, Kilturra, Lakeview, Leitrim, Lisconny, Loughil, Mullagheruse, Owenmore, Rathmacurkey, Riverstown, Shancough, Skreen, Streamstown, Temple, Templeboy North, Templeboy South, Templevanny, Tobercurry, Toberpatrick East, Toberpatrick West and Toomour.	7
Sligo — Drumcliff	Ballintogher East, Ballintogher West, Ballysadare East, Ballysadare West, Calry, Carney, Cliffony North, Cliffony South, Collooney, Drumcliff East, Drumcliff West, Glencar, Kilmacowen, Lissadill East, Lissadill North, Lissadill West, Rossinver East and Rossinver West.	5
Sligo — Strandhill	Knockaree, Sligo East, Sligo North and Sligo West.	6

GIVEN under my Hand, 19 December 2018.

JOHN PAUL PHELAN,

Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of County Sligo into local electoral areas, to fix the number of members of Sligo County Council to be elected for each such area and to determine the municipal districts for County Sligo.

BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN
PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE
To be purchased from
GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS,
52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2.
(Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843)
or through any bookseller.

€1.27

