

STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS.

S.I. No. 629 of 2018

COUNTY OF MONAGHAN LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2018

COUNTY OF MONAGHAN LOCAL ELECTORAL AREAS AND MUNICIPAL DISTRICTS ORDER 2018

I, JOHN PAUL PHELAN, Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 23 of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001) and having regard to section 28(1)(d) of the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014) and the Housing, Planning and Local Government (Delegation of Ministerial Functions) Order 2017 (S.I. No. 473 of 2017), hereby order as follows:

1. This Order may be cited as the County of Monaghan Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2018.

2. (1) The County of Monaghan shall be divided into the local electoral areas which are named in the first column of the Schedule to this Order.

(2) Each such local electoral area shall consist of the area described in the second column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of such local electoral area.

(3) The number of members of Monaghan County Council to be elected for each such local electoral area shall be the number set out in the third column of the Schedule to this Order opposite the name of that local electoral area.

3. Every reference in the Schedule to this Order to an electoral division shall be construed as referring to such electoral division as existing at the date of this Order and every reference to a former rural district shall be construed as a reference to that district as constituted immediately before the 1st day of October 1925.

4. The County of Monaghan shall have the following municipal districts for the purposes of section 22A (inserted by the Local Government Reform Act 2014 (No. 1 of 2014)) of the Local Government Act 2001 (No. 37 of 2001):

- (*a*) The Municipal District of Ballybay Clones consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Ballybay Clones;
- (b) The Municipal District of Carrickmacross Castleblayney consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Carrickmacross Castleblayney;
- (c) The Municipal District of Monaghan consisting of the Local Electoral Area of Monaghan.

5. The County of Monaghan Local Electoral Areas and Municipal Districts Order 2014 (S.I. No. 61 of 2014) is revoked.

Notice of the making of this Statutory Instrument was published in "Iris Oifigiúil" of 11th January, 2019.

Name of Local Electoral Area	Description of Local Electoral Area	Number of Members to be elected for each Local Electoral Area
Ballybay — Clones	The electoral divisions of Aghabog, Anny, Ballybay Rural, Ballybay Urban, Bellatrain, Caddagh, Carrickatee, Clones, Clones Rural, Clones Urban, Cormeen, Corracharra, Creeve, Cremartin, Currin, Dawsongrove, Drum, Drumhillagh, Drummully, Drumsnat, Greagh, Killeevan, Killynenagh, Kilmore, Laragh, Lisnaveane, Newbliss, Raferagh, St. Tierney and Tullycorbet.	5
Carrickmacross — Castleblayney	The electoral divisions of Ballymackney, Bocks, Broomfield, Carrickaslane, Carrickmacross Rural, Carrickmacross Urban, Castleblayney Rural, Castle- blayney Urban, Church Hill, Crossalare, Donagh- moyne, Drumboory, Drumcarrow, Drumgurra, Enagh (in the former Rural District of Carrickmacross), Inish- keen, Kilmurry, Kiltybegs, Lough Fea and Mullyash.	6
Monaghan	The electoral divisions of Anketell Grove, Annayalla, Bellanode, Bragan, Castleshane, Clontibret, Derry- gorry, Emyvale, Enagh (in the former Rural District of Monaghan), Figullar, Glaslough, Killylough, Monaghan Rural, Monaghan Urban, Rackwallace, Scotstown, Shanmullagh, Sheskin, Tedavnet and Tehallan.	7

Schedule

GIVEN under my Hand, 19 December 2018.

JOHN PAUL PHELAN,

Minister of State at the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Instrument and does not purport to be a legal interpretation.)

The effect of this Order is to amend the division of County Monaghan into local electoral areas, to fix the number of members of Monaghan County Council to be elected for each such area and to determine the municipal districts for County Monaghan.

> BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH ARNA FHOILSIÚ AG OIFIG AN tSOLÁTHAIR Le ceannach díreach ó FOILSEACHÁIN RIALTAIS, 52 FAICHE STIABHNA, BAILE ÁTHA CLIATH 2 (Teil: 01 - 6476834 nó 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) nó trí aon díoltóir leabhar.

DUBLIN PUBLISHED BY THE STATIONERY OFFICE To be purchased from GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS, 52 ST. STEPHEN'S GREEN, DUBLIN 2. (Tel: 01 - 6476834 or 1890 213434; Fax: 01 - 6476843) or through any bookseller.



€1.27

Wt. (B33938). 285. 1/19. Essentra. Gr 30-15.